You can customize a catalog search to find books, films and articles about drama and scripts. Use the facets at the left of a search results page to filter searches by resource type, publication date, language and more.
Below are search results featuring lists of plays in our Browsery on the second floor as well as larger search results based on publishers.You can also within these results for plays from a certain time period, by subject, and more.
You can also search for drama books based on subject and other keywords. Below are some search results for Dramaturgy and Theatre History.
You can find digital scripts in the databases on our A-Z List. These include:
Why? To discover 250+ plays by 42 Asian-American playwrights
What? Play scripts and production details
When? Late 19th century - present
Why? To browse 125+ contemporary scripts in a collection focused on women's drama, international drama, drama in translation, and drama by Black and Asian writers
What? Play scripts
When? 1998 - 2016
Why? To explore 1700+ scripts written by Black playwrights, 40% of which are previously unpublished
What? Play scripts
When? Mid 1800s - present
Why? To explore 200+ works of contemporary, global drama
What? Play scripts
When? 2000 - present
Why? To explore full-text plays from Aeschylus to the present day as well as information on historical context, playwrights, analysis, and production images
What? Play scripts, contextual information, analysis, and production images
When? 500 BCE - present
Why? To search all scripts in the Alexander Street collection, covering the historical canon of Western theatre
What? Play scripts
When? 1683 - present
Why? To read authorized and accurate screenplays from the silent era to the present
What? Screenplays
When? 1903 - present
Why? To access 800 plays from the UK and Ireland's preeminent playwrights
What? Play scripts
When? 1990s - present
Why? To discover 200+ plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights
What? Play scripts
When? 20th century
Why? To access 1,500+ plays authored by women playwrights from the United States and Canada
What? Play scripts
When? Colonial times - present
Why? To read nearly 500 scripts including ground-breaking British plays, the best of international drama, and plays in transition
What? Play scripts
When? 1920 - 2020
Why? To read nearly 400 additional contemporary scripts, not included in the original Oberon Collection
What? Play scripts
When? 1990 - 2022
Why? To explore plays from throughout the English-speaking world, ranging from canonical works to previously unpublished scripts and off-Broadway experimentation
What? Play scripts
When? 1890s - present
We have many scripts in print in the library, located in two locations. To best find and browse these scripts, it's best to start with a LibrarySearch.
You can start with a Simple Search, and type a subject, keyword, or name in the search box - and make sure to select Library Catalog to the right of the search bar on the dropdown menu.
After your initial simple search, you can filter your results with the pull down menu options to the left of the search results. You can narrow your search by resource type, subject, creation date, location, author/creator, and language.
This is where you are able to search a specific part of the library - you have the option to select the Scripts Collection in the 2nd Floor Browsery as well as the general collection in the 3rd Floor Stacks. You can select both of these together or either one separately.
You can also perform an Advanced Search, where you can customize your search and select or enter multiple criteria.
Some places to start:
2nd Floor Browsery: Scripts Collection
advanced search: 3rd Floor Drama Collection: Scripts
You can save these searches when you sign in, and select 'save query' at the top of the search results.
Choose either of the options below to submit a request:
If you think that we should have the item in our permanent collection, please let us know by filling out our Purchase Request Form.
