If you're not sure where to start, you can enter keywords (production title, costume designer name, etc.) into LibrarySearch to search across a large selection of our magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. After you enter your search term, on the left hand filter bar, choose Resource Type > Articles, Newspaper Articles, etc.
If you're looking for something specific (like a review from an international publication or an article from an 1892 issue of the New York Times), or if you're not having much luck with the starter single search box, try searching within specific databases below.
Why? To explore current and archival premium U.S. news content from papers such as the Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune
What? News articles, newswires, and blogs
When? 1980 - present
Why? To access 650+ of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, The Guardian, Financial Times, and the South China Morning Post
What? Newspaper articles, newsstreams
When? 1970 - present
Why? To explore articles on many subject areas including business, science, and culture
What? Magazine articles, eBooks, primary source documents, and images including photos, maps, and flags
Why? To access archival, full-text articles from one of the United States' newspapers of record
What? Full-text articles, images
When? 1851 - 2020
Why? To access digitized facsimiles of issues of The Times of London
What? Newspaper articles
When? 1785 - 2014
Why? To browse archival images and articles from past issues of Life Magazine
What? Magazine articles, images
When? 1936 - 2000
Why? To explore historic American newspaper publications of all kinds from mammoth dailies to those published by special-interest groups
What? Urban and regional newspapers, special-interest publications, and illustrated papers
When? 19th century
Why? To browse 3.5M+ pages of digitized content from 1,000+ North Carolina county newspapers
What? Newspaper articles
When? 1751 - 1999
Still having trouble navigating reviews and criticism? Schedule an appointment with your Liaison Librarian!
Beyond the news resources above, you can also find critical essays and performance reviews in these broader research databases.
Why? To explore a full-text archive of scholarly journals, particularly strong in the arts and humanities, and access Artstor's 3M+ images
What? Journal archives, images
When? 1665 - present
Why? Search academic resources related to art, architecture, design, history, music, and theater
What? Full-text scholarly coverage
When? 1970 - present
Why? To access 380+ journal titles and 220+ eBooks on fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architecture
What? Scholarly coverage, analysis, criticism, and images
Why? To find resources to support literary response and analysis from a diverse range of critics and viewpoints
What? Topic guides, literary works, reviews, and criticism
Why? To search the largest periodical resource available, bringing together databases across all major subject areas
What? Full-text articles
When? 1970 - present
The library collects a number of major theatre journals and magazines. Most of the journals collection is located on the 2nd floor, but the latest issues can be found in the 1st floor browsing area behind the stairs. Here are just a few titles we subscribe to:
|
|