Library : Visual Art: Art Books + Ebooks

Physical Materials in the Library

Searching the Library Collections

Materials in the library are organized by subject. Browsing the art shelves of the library in-person can help you discover new work, materials, inspiration, and connections. Listed below are general call number ranges for visual art at UNCSA Library:

N - Visual arts
NA - Architecture
NB - Sculpture
NC - Drawing; design; illustration
ND - Painting
NE - Print media
NK - Decorative arts
NX - Arts in general
TR - Photography
TT - Handicrafts; arts and craft

Additional, non-circulating physical resources can be found under the "Visual Art" sign in our 2nd floor reference collection.

Select Print Resources

Artists on Art by Holly Black
Call Number: N71 .B52 2021

ISBN: 9781786278852

Publication Date: 2022

Through a carefully curated selection of quotations, images and interviews, Artists on Art reveals what matters most to the masters. You'll discover how the giants of the different artistic genres developed their distinctive visual styles, the core ideas that underpin their practice and, most importantly, what art means to you.
The Art of Portraiture by Stephen Bauman
Call Number: NC773 .B386 2024

ISBN: 9781912843916

Publication Date: 2024

Whether you're a beginner or already an accomplished artist, The Art of Portraiture takes you on a journey of discovery about what it takes to capture the essence of a person with just graphite and patience. Author Stephen Bauman offers a synthesis of the best lessons he has learned in his career as a student, as well as the most efficient exercises he's developed as an artist and teacher. If you're up for a bit of adventure, a touch of self-discovery, and a whole lot of drawing, then you're in the right place.
Be the Artist by Thomas Evans
Call Number: N8350 .E82 2020

ISBN: 9781682752487

Publication Date: 2020

This go-to guide can be your handbook as you enter the art world and navigate the nuances of becoming self-sufficient. Instead of feeding you new techniques, it will provide you with insights to help you make decisions based on your specific situation and goals. By the end of this book, you will have a set of guidelines for scenarios that range from taking on commission work and conducting negotiations to dealing with rejection and improving your organization.
Art Today by Edward Lucie-Smith
Call Number: N6490 .L92 2007

ISBN: 9780714838885

Publication Date: 2007

The definitive overview of the richest, most controversial and perhaps most thoroughly confusing epoch in the whole history of the visual arts: the period from 1960 to the present.
Designer's Dictionary of Colour by Sean Adams
Call Number: NK1548 .A32 2017 (2nd floor Reference)

ISBN: 9781419726392

Publication Date: 2017

The Designer's Dictionary of Colour provides an in-depth look at 30 colours key to art and graphic design. Organized by spectrum, in colour-by-colour sections for easy navigation, this book documents each hue with charts showing colour range and palette variations. Chapters detail each colour's creative history and cultural associations, with examples of colour use that extend from the artistic to the utilitarian-whether the turquoise on a Reid Miles album cover or the avocado paint job on a 1970s Dodge station wagon.
100 Ideas That Changed Design by Peter Fiell, Charlotte Fiell
Call Number: NK1175 .F53 2019

ISBN: 9781786273437

Publication Date: 2019

This inspiring book chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped industrial and product design. Written by two experts on modern design, it provides a concise history of the subject, and offers a fascinating resource to dip into for the general reader.

Finding Ebooks

You can search our digital and in-library collections simultaneously by title, author, subject, or keyword via a catalog search. From the results page, use the filters on the left to select "Books" under Resource Type, and "Available Online" under Availability to see only eBook results. Click Advanced Search for additional search criteria (like material type, language, year, etc.).