Skip to main content

Personal Nutrition

What is a Database?

A database is an online collection of information.  Databases can be composed of musical scores and recordings, images, journal or newspaper articles or entire books.  They are typically searched by subject or title.  We've listed general databases below and then more specifically health databases.  If you're off-campus, just login with your campus email and password.

General Databases

Health Databases

Select the database you need for health articles and information from the list below.

Health Databases

Evaluating the Web

Ask yourself the following questions, particularly when evaluating websites.  Unlike books, the internet has no one central publisher or editor who is checking for errors or accuracy so it's imperative that you look at websites with a critical eye.

  • Is the information current?

  • Is the information relevant to my research needs?

  • Who is the author and what are their credentials? How do you know who posted the information?

  • Can the information on the site be checked against accepted sources for accuracy?

  • What is the purpose of the site?  Are they trying to sell something? 

There's nothing wrong with using the internet as a research tool  just be aware that not everything out there in cyberworld is true or useful.  Now, let's address Wikipedia.  Yes, it pops up first and it's quick but it's also easily edited by anyone. Most instructors at UNCSA do not allow its use as a cited work so learn to research without it.