Personal Nutrition

Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, animations, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.Written with non-majors in mind, Discovering Nutrition, Sixth Edition introduces students to the fundamentals of nutrition with an engaging and personalized approach. The text focuses on teaching behavior change and personal decision making with an emphasis on how our nutritional behaviors influence lifelong personal health and wellness, while also presenting up-to-date scientific concepts in a number of innovative ways. Students will learn practical consumer-based nutrition information using the features highlighted throughout the text, including For Your Information boxes presenting controversial topics, Quick Bites offering fun facts, and the NEW feature Why Is This Important? opens each section and identifies the importance of each subject to the field.New & Key Features of the Sixth Edition:NEW - Why Is This Important? feature found within the margin of each section, describes the importance of each subject to the field and the general population in practical termsUPDATED - The Spotlight on Eating Disorders has been heavily revised and modernized to speak to today's studentsUPDATED - Revised to reflect the 2015-2020 Dietary Guidelines for Americans, as well as the new Nutrition Facts label introduced in May 2016.NEW - The new Getting Personal feature, found in the Learning Portfolio at the end of each chapter, encourages students to apply learned concepts to their own lives

Following the tradition of its predecessor, the fifth edition of Nutrition: Maintaining and Improving Health continues to offer a wide-ranging coverage of all aspects of nutrition while providing new information to this edition including: Increased coverage of experimental and observational methods used in nutrition In-depth focus on the nutritional implications of the increased adoption of vegetarian and vegan lifestyles Streamlined referencing - a short selected list of key references at the end of each chapter with URL links to free additional resources where possible Discussion of nutrition debates Critical coverage of "medicinal uses of food" including superfoods, functional foods and dietary supplements Updated bullet point summaries of key points after each major topic within each chapter The author provides an evidence-based evaluation of many key nutrition beliefs and philosophies. The book contains in-depth and critical reviews of the methods used to evaluate nutritional intakes/status and the observational and experimental used to investigate putative links between dietary factors and health outcome. It covers the role of food as a source of energy and nutrients while discussing the non-nutritional roles of food and the social and psychological factors that influence food choice. Presenting a critical discussion on the value of nutrition research linking specific foods or nutrients to specific diseases which encourages students to question the value of some current nutrition research. This is essential reading for all nutrition and dietetics students with different backgrounds who are studying nutrition as a specific discipline for the first time.

To truly live well-to feel good, engage in productive activities, enjoy fulfilling relationships with other people, and be able to adapt to change and cope with adversity-Americans must start addressing mental health with the same urgency as physical health. With that in mind, registered dietitian Dr. Ruth Leyse-Wallace gathers breakthrough scientific research from around the world to demonstrate how powerfully nutrition can affect our mental well-being as much as our physical well-being. Dr. Leyse-Wallace reports on the latest and most compelling findings about the ways in which diet, supplements, genetics, and health conditions can make a difference in mental health. She explores how the short-term and long-term intake of vitamins, minerals, essential fatty acids, proteins, carbohydrates, medications, alcohol, and caffeine can potentially influence mental functioning, and she explains her emerging Theory of PsychoNutriologic Person. Far greater than an evidentiary summary, Linking Nutrition to Mental Health gives tailored recommendations to individuals, healthcare providers, and scientists for putting these groundbreaking research discoveries into practice to achieve a vastly improved quality of life.

The new edition of the Handbook of Nutrition and Food follows the format of the bestselling earlier editions, providing a reference guide for many of the issues on health and well being that are affected by nutrition. Completely revised, the third edition contains 20 new chapters, 50 percent new figures, and updates to most of the previously existing chapters. Part I is devoted to food, including its composition, constituents, labeling, and analysis. There is also a chapter on the laws that regulate food and its protection. Part II focuses on nutrition as a science, covering basic terminology, nutritional biochemistry, nutrition and genetics, food intake regulation, and micronutrients. This section also includes a chapter on the nutritional needs of nonhuman species and a chapter on finding mouse models for human disease studies. Part III discusses the nutrient needs of humans, from infants to older adults, as well as needs under special circumstances, such as elite athletes, vegetarians, and space travelers. Part IV addresses assessment of nutrient intake adequacy. Part V examines clinical nutrition, from assessments in the clinic setting through the many conditions that are likely to be presented in a medical practice. New to this edition: More websites cited for accessing large data sets A complete chapter on food intake regulation Several chapters relating to the legal aspects of food (food law, food labeling) Additional focus on food sanitation and food safety Expanded coverage of drugs and nutrition Integration of major health issues with a significant number of new disease chapters, including nutrition and immune function, dental health, renal disease, brain function, frail elderly and hospitalized patients, and food addiction and obesity New chapters on nutrition and genetics, which include epigenetics and polymorphism-nutrient interactions

Multicultural Handbook of Food, Nutrition and Dietetics is the must have practical resource for dietitians, nutritionists and students working with both well settled but also recently migrated ethnic groups. Written by a team of authors drawn from the British Dietetic Association's Specialist Multicultural Nutrition Group the book provides in-depth information to equip the reader in the provision of nutrition advice to minority groups. Spanning a broad range of cultural groups the book seeks to consider religious and cultural requirements in relation to traditional diets; research on migration studies and chronic disease states; and nutrition and dietetic treatment in relation to key chronic diseases.