Resiliency: Depression

Print ISBN: 9781508187288
EISBN: 9781508187295

According to researchers at Johns Hopkins University, clinical depression among adolescents increased by 37 percent between 2005 and 2014. The National Institute of Mental Health estimates that three million children ages twelve to seventeen have had at least one major depressive episode in the past year. This timely volume helps young people understand this complex illness and offers guidance for coping with their own depression as well as that of friends and family. Filled with solid facts and encouraging advice, this book tackles a disturbing issue in a hopeful and supportive way.

Print ISBN: 9781440876875
EISBN: 9781440876882
Lcc: RJ499 .T446 2022


This encyclopedia provides a concise introduction to the mental health topics of greatest concern to adolescents. It offers young readers the information they need to better understand mental disorders and the importance of psychological well-being.Addressing mental illness and prioritizing psychological well-being are important at any age, but the teen years present unique challenges. Hormonal changes, peer pressure, and the demands of school and a busy social life combined with many other factors put adolescents at high risk for mental health problems. Certain disorders, such as depression and anxiety, are particularly prevalent in this age group, as are risky behaviors like substance abuse, self-harm, and distracted driving. Today's teens also face uniquely modern threats to their psychological well-being, such as Internet addiction and social media-induced fear of missing out (FOMO). Yet there are also ample opportunities for adolescents to strengthen their mental health and resiliency through such practices as meditation, activism, and youth leadership.Teen Mental Health: An Encyclopedia of Issues and Solutions is a ready-reference guide to the mental health topics that most affect the lives of American teens in the 21st century. Entries are accessibly written and feature extensive cross-referencing and helpful further reading lists. This volume also offers a collection of recommended resources, including a number of hotlines for teens in crisis.

Print ISBN: 9781681255743
EISBN: 9781681255804
Lcc: LC4181

Students who experience serious emotional and/or behavioral disorders (EBD) are at risk for a wide range of negative outcomes, from limited academic progress to problems with employment and community life after they leave school. Positive educational experiences can help, and this textbook fully prepares educators, school psychologists, and administrators to create supportive K-12 learning environments that help students with EBD thrive. This comprehensive text gives professionals a deep understanding of the key issues associated with EBD and practical, trauma-informed approaches for working with these students in a variety of settings, from general education classrooms to specialized intervention programs. Readers will discover how to: Recognize key factors that influence each student's behavior, such as developmental history, personal characteristics, skill sets, and social perceptions Help students develop positive, supportive personal relationships with adults and peers in the classroom Deliver meaningful, engaging instruction within safe and supportive learning environments Involve students in creating behavioral standards that support engagement in instruction Develop effective behavior support plans that include assessment and intervention Respond with proven strategies when students fail to follow established behavior standards Engage students in problem solving and conflict resolution Implement social-emotional learning strategies that help break down obstacles to school success Develop and assess a program that provides specialized support in a more contained setting for students with more intensive needs Create a plan for staff development and support of staff working in programs for students with EBD  Special features throughout the book--such as chapter outcomes, summaries, reflection activities, forms, sample lessons, checklists, and case studies--ensure comprehension and help readers successfully implement the concepts and methods. Also included is a complete package of online companion materials for faculty, featuring PowerPoint slides, a test bank, and sample syllabi. An essential textbook and an important inservice professional resource, this book gives readers the knowledge and skills they need to support students with EBD and help them succeed in school and in life.

Print ISBN: 9780780819252
EISBN: 9780780819269

Consumer health information for teens about the causes, warning signs, and symptoms of mental health disorders, along with facts about treatment approaches and tips for teens on coping with stress, building self-esteem, and maintaining mental wellness.

Print ISBN: 9781787755444
EISBN: 9781787755451
Lcc: LB1027.55


This planner provides detailed guidance on what a Designated Mental Health Lead needs to do, when they need to do it, and how they can achieve the best results. It gives a clear focus and checklist for each week, including spaces to add your own to-do list, and encourages reflection on the outcomes and impact of your actions on pupils' attainment and wellbeing. It also encourages a focus on your own development and self-care, with space to record what you are currently reading or listening to and one thing you are grateful for that week. In addition to the termly and weekly plans, the book provides short briefs on key aspects of the role, including how to work effectively with teachers, the HR team, the DSL, governors, the pastoral team, Mental Health Support Teams and parents. It is an invaluable resource for all DMHLs tackling the 39 academic weeks.

Print ISBN: 9781787757134
EISBN: 9781787757141

Mind Mechanics is a comprehensive resource to support schools in teaching pupils about mental health. Drawing on a wide range of therapeutic interventions, including CBT, Behavioural Activation and Compassion-Focussed Therapy, it provides activities and lesson plans to empower children with the skills they need to manage their mental health throughout life. The book contains lesson plans, games and activities, assessment tools and information on risk factors and specific issues that might impact children. It also features photocopiable and downloadable worksheets, making the provision of mental health teaching simple. Mind Mechanics can be used flexibly as a full programme as part of the school's Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship curriculum, as a targeted intervention for a group or individual, or as a resource bank of individual activities to use as and when needed.

Print ISBN: 9780780818200
EISBN: 9780780818217

Provides basic health information on anxiety and depression in teens and its various types, causes, risk factors, diagnosis, treatments, and coping methods. Includes an index, and a directory of organizations for additional help and information.

Print ISBN: 9781773382043
EISBN: 9781773382067

Designed to help practitioners of children and youth to understand mental health.

Print ISBN: 9781610023641
EISBN: 9781610023658
Lcc: RJ499$b.P435 2020

This new compendium is your source for trustworthy recommendations on quality care of children and adolescents with mental health issues. It features one new AAP clinical practice guideline on ADHD and 32 AAP policy statements and clinical and technical reports on mental health. This book is written for all practitioners who diagnose, treat, and provide general clinical care for children and adolescents with mental health conditions. It serves as a great tool to ensure pediatricians feel comfortable with handling mental health issues. The book combines both clinical practice guidelines for individual patient care and policy guidelines for community level care. Within the compendium, you will find the collected results of the AAP Committee on Psychosocial Aspects of Child and Family Health, the Committee on Pediatric Emergency Medicine, and the Section on Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics, in addition to select polices from other AAP groups. This compendium covers 33 different mental health topics and is organized into 8 sections for easy reference: *    Mental health competencies *    Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) *    Adversity and toxic stress *    Depression and bipolar disorder *    Mental health/behavioral problems *    Maltreatment *    Mental health emergencies *    Special pediatric populations and support