Resiliency: Depression

Print ISBN: 9781785920561
EISBN: 9781784503130

Revealing a tension between the medical model of depression and the very different language of theology, this book explores how religious people and communities understand severe sadness, their coping mechanisms and their help-seeking behaviours. Drawing from her study of practicing Catholics, contemplative monks and nuns, priests and laypeople studying theology, the author describes how symptoms that might otherwise be described as pathological and meet diagnostic criteria for a depressive disorder are considered by some religious individuals to be normal and valued experiences. She explains how sadness fits into the 'Dark Night of the Soul' narrative - an active transformation of emotional distress into an essential ingredient for self-reflection and spiritual growth - and how sadness with a recognised cause is seen to 'make sense', whereas sadness without a cause may be seen to warrant psychiatric consultation. The author also discusses the role of the clergy in cases of sadness and depression and their collaboration with medical professionals. This is an insightful read for anyone with an interest in theology or mental health, including clergy, psychiatrists and psychologists.

Print ISBN: 9781683731498
EISBN: 9781683731511
Lcc: RC480.5

Transform your feelings of anxiety, depression and unworthiness into loving self-acceptance.Mindfulness and yoga authority Mary NurrieStearns has created a compassionate and practical workbook that provides a caring healing journey. 78 brain-changing practices help you focus on life-enhancing thoughts and actions, which leads to self-understanding, and living with meaning and peace.Interactive format with journaling promptsStep-by-step mindful yoga posesTips to reduce self-blameLearning to take care of emotionsPractices to undo shameTools for cultivating mindful contentmentBONUS: Clinician treatment notes for each chapter

Print ISBN: 9781849495448
EISBN: 9781849496568
Lcc: RC531 .P566 2015

Explores how diet affects hormones and covers the foods that a person can eat to improve anxiety and depression symptoms.

Print ISBN: 9781684034680
EISBN: 9781684034697
Lcc: BF204.6 .T66 2020

"The perfect recipe for fulfillment, joy, peace, and expansion of awareness." --Deepak Chopra, MD, author of Metahuman Cultivate hope with strengths-based practices grounded in positive psychology. If you suffer from depression, sub-clinical depression, or low mood, you may have days where you feel like you've lost hope--hope that you'll ever feel better, that the world will be a better place, or that you'll someday find the happiness that always seems to elude you. You aren't alone. Many people struggle with feelings of sadness and hopelessness--especially in our difficult, modern world. The good news is that you can change. Learned Hopefulness offers powerful exercises grounded in evidence-based positive psychology to help you identify your strengths; ditch the self-limiting beliefs that diminish your capacity for positivity; and increase feelings of motivation, resiliency, and wellness. You'll also learn to untangle yourself from rumination over past negative events, while shifting your perspective to the present moment and anticipating your future through a more positive lens. With this unique, compassionate, and life-affirming guide, you'll find the tools you need to break free from hopelessness and start living a life of happiness and vitality.

Print ISBN: 9781925713107
EISBN: 9781925693225
Lcc: RC451.4.W6

Stark considers why so many in today's world are depressed and if the pursuit of happiness is part of what is causing this depression.

Print ISBN: 9781615993628
EISBN: 9781615993642
Lcc: RC516$b.Z684 2018

Marshal the Skills and Resources You Need to Live Your Best Life This book is about how to recover from bipolar disorder, or at least how to attempt to recover from it. Sufferers will be briefly introduced to new coping skills including: emotional regulation, method acting, empathy development and relaxation. In order to get the most out of this book, you'll need to develop your own strategies, based on the recommendations of this book. "In Got Bipolar?, Zotti offers unique insights based on his personal experience of coming to terms with his own bipolar condition. Applying method acting as an emotional regulation tool mirrors the work of Marsha Linehan and her concept of 'opposite action to the emotion', a tool long recognized as effective in regulating emotions. Additionally, his focus on developing hobbies and interests in one's life also reflects Linehan's emphasis on creating a life worth living through the pursuit of meaningful activities. Zotti's book will, no doubt, provide an invaluable guide for sufferers of bipolar disorder and I highly recommend it." --Paul Corcoran, Clinical Psychologist, Moving Forward "If you or someone you know has been diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder (BPD), Got Bipolar? is a good place to start to try to make sense of it all. Topics include self-care, medications, coping skills and responding to someone in crisis. Zotti has lived with BPD most of his life, so he has walked the talk. The messages are of hope, loving yourself throughout this process and, if you are looking for help with a loved one, recognizing that the person is more than just this illness." -- Judy Wright, mental health patient advocate "Got Bipolar? offers a framework for the sufferer in need of skills to overcome symptoms. Zotti personally uses method acting as a coping skill to reverse mood states. Even a smile has the power to shift a low mood. He covers the basics, but it is up to the readers to increase their knowledge of emotional regulation, empathy development, relaxation techniques and other coping skills. This book is a really good primer for anyone suffering from Bipolar Disorder. -- Lewis Weir, BSW Learn more about the author at www.lhpress.com/authors/alfredo-zotti

Print ISBN: 9780780819702
EISBN: 9780780819719

Consumer health information about the signs, symptoms, and treatment of various mental illnesses, and the special mental health concerns of children and adolescents, older adults, and other groups, along with tips for maintaining mental wellness. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.

Print ISBN: 9780128242896
EISBN: 9780128242889
Lcc: RA790 .M468 2021

The physical effects of COVID-19 are felt globally. However, one issue that has not been sufficiently addressed is the impact of COVID-19 on mental health. During the COVID-19 pandemic, citizens worldwide are enduring widespread lockdowns; children are out of school; and millions have lost their jobs, which has caused anxiety, depression, insomnia, and distress. Mental Health Effects of COVID-19 provides a comprehensive analysis of mental health problems resulting from COVID-19, including depression, suicidal thoughts and attempts, trauma, and PTSD. The book includes chapters detailing the impact of COVID-19 on the family's well-being and society dynamics. The book concludes with an explanation on how meditation and online treatment methods can be used to combat the effects on mental health. Discusses family dynamics, domestic violence, and aggression due to COVID-19 Details the psychological impact of COVID-19 on children and adolescents Includes key information on depression, anxiety, and suicide as a result of COVID-19

Print ISBN: 9781534506145
EISBN: 9781534506152

Approximately one in five adults in the United States experience mental illness on an annual basis, and emotional, behavioral, or mental disorders are just as prevalent among young people. Issues like homelessness and mass violence have brought mental illness into the spotlight, but have significant strides been made in addressing mental health issues in recent years or are these disorders still widely stigmatized? This volume explores the questions of whether mental health issues stem from uniquely American factors, how accessible treatment is to those who need it, and whether modern technology plays a role in America's mental health.

Print ISBN: 9781863959537
EISBN: 9781925435719
Lcc: RC480.5 .E454 2018

Become your own mental health expert Mental illness is too often portrayed with a sense of despair, as if it's a life sentence. Nothing could be further from the truth. Virtually everyone improves with help, and most of the help is relatively easy to access. How do we define mental illness? What does a diagnosis mean? What should you ask your doctor before you begin treatment? Are there alternatives to medication? What does the research show actually works? Practitioner and professor of psychiatry Dr Steve Ellen and popular comedian Catherine Deveny combine forces to demystify the world of mental health. Sharing their personal experiences of mental illness and an insider perspective on psychiatry, they unpack the current knowledge about conditions and treatments. Punctuated with anecdotes and real-life stories, Mental covers everything from depression and anxiety to schizophrenia, personality disorders and substance abuse. This updated edition includes a new chapter on coping with the challenges of the covid-19 pandemic, as well as updates on new drugs and therapies. Whether you have a mental illness or support someone who does, Mental offers clear practical help, empowering you with an arsenal of tips and techniques to help build your resilience Dr Steve Ellen is a professor of psychiatry at the University of Melbourne and the Director of Psychosocial Oncology at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre. He is a broadcaster on 3RRR, a weekly regular on ABC Melbourne and has written for medical journals, textbooks and print media. Catherine Deveny is a writer, commentator and comedian. She is the author of eight books, including Use Your Words, The Happiness Show, Free to a Good Home, Say When and It's Not My Fault They Print Them.

Print ISBN: 9781421428857
EISBN: 9781421428864

An essential guide to organizing and offering mental health services on campus. Stressed by increasing student demand for mental health services, campus counseling centers across the country are grappling with how best to deliver ethical, effective, and efficient service. Hampered by limited budgets, most centers find it deeply challenging to address growing college mental health service needs. Yet little conceptual training is provided to student affairs, higher education, health, and mental health professionals who deliver campus mental health services. In Delivering Effective College Mental Health Services, psychologist Lee Keyes aims to change that. He offers sound, field-tested advice for creating a congruent, cross-division, and service-oriented college counseling enterprise that best fits its campus culture and students. This useful handbook for administering counseling services * poses questions and offers practical advice to help college counseling centers form a consistent philosophical model * lays out conceptual groundwork for constructing college counseling services, from training activities to counseling/psychotherapy processes * takes into account the pressures (time related, economic, political, cultural) that strain universities * explains how to cultivate an accurate and empathic response to each individual, their entire history and context, and their possible life trajectory Written by a leading provider of college mental health services, Delivering Effective College Mental Health Services is an essential guide to organizing and offering mental health services on university and college campuses.

Print ISBN: 9781440854897
EISBN: 9781440854903

Essential reading for health and mental health administrators, community agencies, and policy makers as well as students and general interest readers, this book details the state of the physical and mental health of many Latina/o American groups.While Latina/o Americans originate from more than 25 countries, most health or mental health texts largely focus on Mexican Americans and often fail to address other Latina/o groups, such as South Americans, Central Americans, Puerto Ricans, and others. Moreover, most works address either health or mental health, but not both together. In contrast, Latina/o American Health and Mental Health addresses both the health and mental health of diverse Latina/o heritage groups. An interdisciplinary approach enables readers to identify both similar and divergent areas that affect the health and mental health of Latina/o Americans. Strengths-based and social justice perspectives, rather than a deficit perspective, guide the work in its assessment of disparities among treatment for different groups.This text is ideal for graduate students, practitioners, researchers, and policy makers in public health, community health, family studies, psychology, counseling, social work, and Latina/o studies who are interested in understanding Latina/o health and mental health in the United States and providing culturally responsive services.

Print ISBN: 9781473966536
EISBN: 9781526417381
Lcc: RA790 .H358 2018

Foundational information about mental health and wellbeing.

Print ISBN: 9781440853340
EISBN: 9781440853357
Lcc: RA790 .P734 2018

A comprehensive book written by experienced practitioners, this single-volume work describes clinical competencies, specific challenges, and applications in providing services to the elderly and their caregivers.More people are living past age 65 than ever before in the United States, largely due to medical care advances and increased attention to preventive care. The number of people aged 65 and older has increased from 35 million in 2000 to 40 million in 2010, and the elderly population is expected to reach 72 million by 2030. Additionally, the American Psychological Association estimates at least 20 percent of all people aged 65 and older have a diagnosable mental disorder. There is a clear need to provide additional training support to those in the field of elder care as well as those who are friends or family members of older adults.Written by a team of experts each specializing in an aspect of elder care, The Praeger Handbook of Mental Health and the Aging Community is a single-volume text that addresses the training needs of mental health care providers serving the aging population. It offers holistic and integrated models of care after presenting an in-depth explanation of the brain, body, social, and emotional changes across aging that can trigger psychological disorders. The chapters pay attention to issues of diversity and culture in America's aging population; present an integrated care model to serve all of the needs of mentally ill elders; include numerous case studies to demonstrate how approaches can be utilized; and discuss topics such as disability, poverty, and the legal and ethical ramifications of elder care.

Print ISBN: 9781849055185
EISBN: 9780857009326
Lcc: RA790.5 .L33 2014

Social support is the everyday assistance offered by family, friends, neighbours and colleagues, as well as the foundations of support in a range of non-clinical settings, and plays a vital role in a person's mental health and wellbeing. This book examines the nature of social support and offers a practical approach to how it can be enhanced. Focusing on the relationships between service users and supporters , it examines service users' experiences of issues of identity, stigma, social exclusion and social networks. Individual chapters look in depth at how social support is enacted in close relationships, educational institutions and in the world of employment. The nature of 'community' is explored with particular reference to how service users can be supported into greater engagement with social networks. Demonstrating the importance of social perspectives on mental health, this book is essential reading for practitioners, students and educators in mental health, social and community work, community mental health nursing and occupational therapy.

Print ISBN: 9781447305729
EISBN: 9781447305736
Lcc: RC451.4.A5$b.M556 2020

Focusing on mental health rather than mental illness, this book adopts a lifecourse approach to understanding mental health and wellbeing in later life. Well-respected author and scholar Alisoun Milne explores the influences of lifecourse experiences, structural inequalities, socio-political context, history, gender and age related factors and engages with new ways of thinking about preventing mental ill health and promoting mental health in later life. Drawing together material from a number of different fields, the book analyses the meaning and determinants of mental health among older populations and offers a critical review of the lifecourse, ageing and mental health discourse for students, professionals, policy makers and researchers.

Print ISBN: 9780323956048
EISBN: 9780323956055
LCC: BF408 .R863 2023

This book summarizes how awareness of one's emotions, emotion regulation, emotion appraisal, emotionally laden memories, and emotional competencies influence mental health. Each component is discussed with regard to mechanisms, development, and their impact on psychotherapy. The first part of the book discusses theories linking emotional processes, psychopathology, and mental health. The second part of the book discusses the developmental pathways of change in emotional processes over the lifespan. The third part of the book discusses pathways of change in emotional processes during psychotherapy and includes different forms of treatment of psychological disorders. Reviews how emotion affects mental health and vice versa Identifies how emotional processing changes during psychotherapy Examines emotion awareness and understanding, appraisal and reappraisal, regulation, memories, and emotion competencies and transformation Includes theory and research

Print ISBN: 9781544380155
EISBN: 9781544380148

Cognitive Science provides a comprehensive and up-to-date introduction to the study of the mind. Authors Jay Friedenberg, Gordon Silverman, and Michael J. Spivey examine the mind from the perspective of different fields, including philosophy, psychology, neuroscience, networks, evolution, emotional and social cognition, linguistics, artificial intelligence, robotics, and the new framework of embodied cognition. Each chapter focuses on a particular disciplinary approach and explores methodologies, theories, and empirical findings. Substantially updated with new and expanded content, the Fourth Editionreflects the latest research in this rapidly evolving field.