Library & Learning Commons: Graduate Screenwriting : Screenwriting Resources

Finding Filmmaking Resources in the Library

Use the LibrarySearch to search for filmmaking materials in the catalog, and our A-Z database List to browse electronic databases and collections.

On the third floor you can browse books about cinema and film studies under these headings:

PN 1992-1999 - Motion Pictures
PN 1993.5 - Film History
PN 1994.A1-.A5 - Laws, Regulations, etc
PN 1996 - Authorship, Scenario Writing, etc
PN 1997 - Individual Motion Pictures

You can also browse books about technical filmmaking under these headings:

TR 845 - 897.77 - Cinematography. Motion Pictures. Video Recording
TR 898 - Motion Pictures for Television, Editing Motion Pictures

Print Books and eBooks

These are a few examples of print and eBooks found in our catalog, by doing a search for terms like screenwriting or writing for film and television, defining the dates as between 2000-2023 and selecting books as the resource type.

Next Level Screenwriting : insights, ideas and inspiration for the intermediate screenwriter by David Landau; David Bennett Carren
ISBN: 9780429619380
Publication Date: 2019-05-23
Next Level Screenwriting is an intermediate screenwriting book, for those that have already learned the basics of screenwriting, written a screenplay or two and want to bring their writing and stories to the next level.
Ethics in Screenwriting : New Perspectives by Steven Maras (Editor)
Call Number: 3rd Floor Stacks ; PN1996 .E83 2016
ISBN: 9781137544926
Publication Date: 2016-12-20
Building on a new wave of screenwriting research, as well as a 'turn to ethics' in humanities and media studies scholarship, this title forms a bridge between these areas in a unique analysis of a key area of media practice.
Blueprint for Screenwriting: A Complete Writer's Guide to Story Structure and Character Development by Rachel Friedman Ballon
ISBN: 1282321544
Publication Date: 2004-09-15
Author and international script consultant Dr. Rachel Ballon explores the writing craft and emphasizes creativity in the writing process.

Film Databases

Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together a wide range of content from Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber to support studies of the moving image. It offers searchable access to screenplays presented in industry-standard studio format; introductory overview articles with expert analysis of selected themes; and critical and contextual books on cinema, including coverage of practical techniques for filmmaking and screenwriting.
Bloomsbury Screen Studies: Filmmaking This link opens in a new window
The Filmmaking collection offers a dedicated collection of over 100 practical eBooks from Focal Press and Bloomsbury, offering depth and coverage across the curriculum. The collection provides coverage across key areas of filmmaking including: production, screenwriting, cinematography, direction, and the business of film; the collection also includes overviews, practical handbooks, and technical guides.
Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
Copyrighted screenplays from the silent era to the present.
Film Index International This link opens in a new window
Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.
Mirskey Collection of Salon Orchestra and Silent Film Music This link opens in a new window
Contains the instrumental parts for approximately 3,500 musical compositions, which include numerous markings, marginalia, and manuscripts in Bronisław Mirskey's hand, revealing certain patterns of preparing music material for performance. Made available by the University of Pittsburgh.

How to Request Interlibrary Loans

Choose either of the options below to submit a request:

Fill out the ILL request form directly based on item type.
Check WorldCat for the item you need; in the item record, use the Request Item button to submit your ILL Request.

Consider making a purchase request

If you think that we should have the item in our permanent collection, please let us know by filling out our Purchase Request Form.