United State Womens History

What is an online exhibit? Much like a museum exhibit, the online counterpart provides you access to a range of materials that an institution owns, collects, and curates to help bring about a better understanding of a topic or point in history. 

Shall Not Be Denied: Women Fight for the Vote. Library of Congress

The campaign for Women securing the right to vote lasted seventy years. The passing of these rights did not guarantee the full voting rights for women of color. African American Suffragist and other women of color's contributions to gaining their right to vote is beginning to be examined by scholar. Explore the Library of Congress collections that exposes the suffrage movement and women of colors contribution.

Black Women's Suffrage Digital Public Library

This digital collection explores the roots of women's activism in Black communities; the intersection between voting rights and the other civil rights. By providing digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women's Suffrage Movement, women's rights, and civic activism between 180-1960. 

Ida B. Wells and Anti-Lynching Activism, a Primary Source Collection from the DPLA

Hear Black Women's Voices. Schlesinger Library, Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University

"Hear Black Women’s Voices" presents curated content from the Schlesinger Library to provide a toolkit for students, researchers, and activists seeking to study and learn from African American women leaders. 

Spotlight: Women's Suffrage. Smithsonian Institution, National Portrait Gallery

The Smithsonian American Women’s History Museum seeks to amplify women’s contribution throughout American History. Their curated collections are online and provide a diverse plethora of visual materials, iconic objects, and stories. 

Collection: Women's Suffrage in Sheet Music. Library of Congress

The Library of Congress curated a collection of Women’s Suffrage in Sheet music. This collection of over 200 pieces spans from 1838-1923. 

Rightfully Hers National Archives

The National Archives cured this exhibit exploring American women long and arduous journey, achieving the right to vote. This exhibit questions the origins of democracy and addresses the significance of why gaining the right to vote was such a monumental shift in American History.

Women's Liberation Movement Print Culture. Duke University Libraries

This digital collection is part of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History and Culture. The collection contains manifestos, speeches, essays, and other material documenting various aspects of the Women’s Movement in the United States from 1960's and 1970’s.