There are three ways to access Canvas Studio media and tools:
Via the Studio menu link in any course navigation menu - Studio will typically be near the bottom of the menu
This path sends you to media currently associated with the course. To add more media, use the Add Media features on the top right. This will add media to both your course AND your My Library collection.
Via the Studio tool in the rich content editor
This is the path for adding media to Canvas tools.
Selecting the Canvas Studio app icon will open your Canvas Studio library. Typically, this icon will appear by selecting the (1) Canvas app dropdown menu, then selecting the (3) Canvas studio icon.
If the Studio icon does not appear, select (2) the View All link, which opens a search menu for all available apps. Enter 'Studio' into the search form, which will sort the list down to Canvas Studio. Then click on the Canvas Studio icon to select the tool. After this, the Studio tool should appear in the tool dropdown without requiring a search.
Studio's tool suite revolves around uploaded, linked, or recorded (screen capture or using a webcam) video and audio files. All of a user's Studio media files will appear in their My Library view, including specific media collections.
Media files can be loaded directly into My Library, but can also be uploaded into the Studio collection in a Canvas course. Media uploaded into a Canvas course will also appear in media loader's My Library collection. In some cases, media files may multiply when Studio tool use creates new iterations.
Using Studio begins with adding media to your library. Audio and video files can be uploaded into your Canvas library:
Instructors can also link media from YouTube and Vimeo.
And record directly into Studio:
(Additional support available through Studio Basics)
Once uploaded, media can be sorted into collections which can then be shared:
(Additional support available through Studio Collections)
Canvas Studio also provides simple editing tools for cutting and trimming media.
Before looking at Studio tools, let's review how to add Studio Media in Canvas courses. First, know that course media available via the files tool, media upload tool, linked from outside sources, or recorded using the native Canvas tools or third party tools are not the same as Studio media.
Embedding Studio media into a Canvas course is done using the Studio app through the Rich Content Editor.
After selecting the Canvas Studio app, a pop-up window will present the media and collections in your My Library. To select the media you wish to embed, mover the cursor over the media so the select button appears.
A new pop-up window will offer options, including:
For further information, please refer to the following links:
(Additional support available through Studio Media Management)
Media tabs are optional when embedding Studio media into Canvas courses. There are four tabs. The first two are visible to students.
Presents the media title, description, and tags.
Offers an informal, time-based discussion about the media. Original comments overlays the media. Replies will not appear.
The other two tabs are not visible to students.
An analytics tool providing a few of media viewing, including which students have viewed the media, the number of views, and the duration.
The caption tab allows the instructor to request the generation of captions using Studio's technology or upload a custom caption file.
The most powerful Studio features extend media engagement through Canvas course tools. These tools are only available through you My Library collection.
Quizzes allows instructors to embed quantitative assessment items into media timelines, including:
Media annotations allow instructors to embed notes in media timelines.
Media can also be embedded into Canvas discussion boards.
The third feature of Canvas Studio provides instructors the ability to view student engagement. Studio’s analytics provide analysis of media access on a per-user (student) basis, including: