Library : Production + Project Management: Business + Leadership

Digital Resources

Selected Business Ebooks

Stage Money by Tim Donahue; Jim Patterson
ISBN: 9781611172232
Publication Date: 2012
A guide to understanding professional theater finances today through the use of the tools and metaphors of the business world at large.
Project Management for Designers and Facilities Managers by Howard G. Birnberg
ISBN: 9781604271201
Publication Date: 2015
Covers essential skills needed for effective project management. Particular emphasis is devoted to effective communications essential to the optimal performance of every member of the project team.
The Project Management Tool Kit by Tom Kendrick
ISBN: 9780814433461
Publication Date: 2013
For project managers of every industry, this title includes practical tips and techniques for a variety of project management needs, including scope planning, schedule development and adjustment, cost estimating and control, defining and using project metrics, decision-making and problem solving, motivation and leadership, stakeholder engagement and expectation management, and risk identification and monitoring.

Business Databases + Web Resources

ABI/INFORM This link opens in a new window
Business research from journals and trade publications
Entrepreneurship Database This link opens in a new window
Information for entrepreneurs and researchers that includes business start-up plans, video clips, journals, business cases, and more.
Business Market Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Information on over 40,000 companies.
Data-Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Reference and research tool providing instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on 24 million U.S. businesses and 235 million U.S. residents. ReferenceUSA makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.

Theatre Facts from TCG (Theatre Communications Group)
In-depth report examining the attendance, performance, and overall fiscal state of the U.S. professional not-for-profit theatre field.
Internet Broadway Database
Statistics and information collected by the Research Department at The Broadway League, intended to serve as a comprehensive history of Broadway.

Fortune Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-color, full-text access to over 1,100 issues of Fortune, covering 1930 to 2000.

Physical Materials in the Library

Searching the Library Collections

Materials in the library are organized by subject. Browsing the shelves of the library in-person can help you discover new work, materials, inspiration, and connections. Listed below are general call number ranges for business and theatre at UNCSA Library:

HB615-715 - Entrepreneurship
HD28-70 - Management
HB3711-3840 - Business cycles
NX760-770 - Administration of the arts
NX798-820 - Arts centers and facilities
PN 2085-2091 - Theatre > Stage and Accessories

You can search our digital and in-library collections simultaneously by title, author, subject, or keyword via LibrarySearch. Click Advanced Search for additional search criteria (like material type, language, year, etc.).

Selected Print Books

Theatre Management: Producing and Managing the Performing Arts by David M. Conte; Stephen Langley
Call Number: PN2291 .C65 2007 - Stacks (3rd Floor)
ISBN: 0896762564
Publication Date: 2007
A broad, comprehensive view of theatre and performing arts management, based on the premise that all of the performing arts share the same core issues: producing or presenting artistically satisfying works in accord with their missions, finding and keeping an audience, providing for the financial and creative well-being of an organization or production, and maintaining good personnel and public relations.
Stage Money by Tim Donahue; Jim Patterson
Call Number: PN2293.E35 D66 2010 - Stacks (3rd Floor)
ISBN: 9781570039065
Publication Date: 2010
A guide to understanding professional theater finances today through the use of the tools and metaphors of the business world at large.

NOTE: Stage Money is also available as an ebook.

Arts Management by Ellen Rosewall
Call Number: NX760 .R67 2014 - Stacks (3rd Floor)
ISBN: 9780199973705
Publication Date: 2014
Designed for students and practitioners with little experience in not-for-profit management, Arts Management covers the theory and practice of managing arts and cultural organizations through case studies and critical-thinking exercises.
Collaborating Backstage by Timo Niermann
Call Number: PN2053 .N53 2019 - Stacks (3rd Floor)
ISBN: 9781350072848
Publication Date: 2019
Collaboration is the most important facet of any theatrical company. From the performers on stage to the choreographers, designers and technicians working behind the scenes, this book considers all departments working on a production and instructs them on how to unify their individual skills towards a shared goal. From Vaudeville to classical opera, this book establishes the skills that each specialist brings to the production process before demonstrating how each individual contribution can be utilized in tandem with all other creative teams.
Broadway and Beyond: Commercial Theatre Considered by David S. Thompson (Editor)
Call Number: PN2053 .B639 2014 - Stacks (3rd Floor)
ISBN: 9780817370091
Publication Date: 2014
That theatre is a business remains a truth often ignored by theatre insiders and consumers of the performing arts alike. The essays in Theatre Symposium, Volume 22 explore theatre as a commercial enterprise both historically and as a continuing part of the creation, production, and presentation of contemporary live performance.