Reference resources like these are ideal for a very broad overview of a topic. This is a good starting place if you're investigating a place, historical time period, type of theatre, or theme that's new to you.
Why? To explore a premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases in a wide expanse of subject areas
What? Encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and video
Why? To explore the foremost scholarly art and architecture encyclopedia with entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, and periods
What? Encyclopedia entries, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images
When? “Pre-history” - present
Why? To search an encyclopedia covering theater and performance
What? Encyclopedia entries
When? Ancient Greek theatre - modern times
Why? To access drafts, sketches, and final production images for costume, lighting, projection, sound, scene, and makeup design, as well as a video series on contemporary design and scenography
What? Archival material and production documents, books, periodicals, and instructional videos
When? 17th century - present day
Fashions in Hair by 
An Illustrated Dictionary of Hairdressing and Wigmaking by 
Fashions in Makeup by 
Hair: Styling, Culture, and Fashion by NOTE: Hair: Styling, Culture, and Fashion is also available as a print book in the library.
Hair: A Human History by 
Drag: Combing Through the Big Wigs of Show Business by Books and ebooks can provide an in-depth look at a topic, place, design style, or historical moment. You can search our digital and in-library collections simultaneously by title, author, subject, or keyword via LibrarySearch. Click Advanced Search for additional search criteria (like material type, language, year, etc.).
Search across a large collection of our library databases by entering keywords into LibrarySearch, or search within a specific database from the linked list below.
If you're not finding what you're looking for, take a second to think about the keywords you're using. Getting too many results or results that aren't relevant? Your keyword(s) might be too general -- Try using greater specificity and/or more search terms. Example: Instead of Russian architecture, try the more specific geographic term (Moscow architecture) or add more keywords to narrow your results (Russian dome construction).
Why? To explore a full-text archive of scholarly journals, particularly strong in the arts and humanities, and access Artstor's 3M+ images
What? Journal archives, images
When? 1665 - present
Why? To search the largest periodical resource available, bringing together databases across all major subject areas
What? Full-text articles
When? 1970 - present
Why? To access 380+ journal titles and 220+ eBooks on fine, decorative, and commercial art as well as architecture
What? Scholarly coverage, analysis, criticism, and images