Resiliency: Exercise, Nutrition, and Physical Health

eISBN: 9781615997190
Print ISBN: 9781615997176

All of your physical and mental health depends on getting a good night's sleep. We all love waking up without an alarm, feeling rested and refreshed, right? Unfortunately, many people don't sleep enough or sleep well, or both. It may feel like your sleep is a combination lock and you can't figure out all the right numbers in the right sequence. These tips are designed to help you put it all together. _x000D_ These 101 Tips are designed to help you find the rest you deserve in the best way possible. You'll walk through all of the various factors in getting a good night's sleep, from your bed and bedroom to relaxing before bed to solving several sleep problems. While some of these tips have been around for hundreds or thousands of years, some are as new as they can be. We even talk about the progress that's been made in the medical field regarding sleep in past few decades. _x000D_ Whatever your sleep situation, you will probably find something here that can help you sleep even better and longer. You just have to have the patience and dedication to solve your own sleep problems.

eISBN: 9781071852781
Print ISBN: 9781071852811

In chaotic times, a deep breath can bring calm to your classroom. As the pandemic recedes and the world gradually returns to "normal," it's more important than ever to make your classroom a place that supports mental health and improves overall wellness. In this book, you'll discover the why and the how of using techniques to reduce stress, improve executive function, and set the stage for increased memory and attention, better self-regulation, and improved cognition and academic learning. With this practical, research-based guide, you'll incorporate age- and grade-appropriate meditation, breathing, mindfulness, and secular yoga activities into your teaching, in ways that work for in-person as well as virtual and hybrid settings. Features include Adaptations for special populations, including those who have experienced trauma Recommendations for family involvement in social emotional learning Guidance on self-care for teachers and school staff Data from successfully implemented programs Dozens of illustrations, QR codes, and reflective questions Mindfulness isn't just a buzzword-it's a time-tested, teacher-tested technique for reducing anxiety and improving you students' outcomes. Incorporate it into your classroom and see for yourself how much good a deep breath can do.

eISBN: 9780128126066
Print ISBN: 9780128126059

Exercise-Based Interventions for People with Mental Illness: A Clinical Guide to Physical Activity as Part of Treatment provides clinicians with detailed, practical strategies for developing, implementing and evaluating physical activity-based interventions for people with mental illness. The book covers exercise strategies specifically tailored for common mental illnesses, such as depression, schizophrenia, bipolar disorder, and more. Each chapter presents an overview of the basic psychopathology of each illness, a justification and rationale for using a physical activity intervention, an overview of the evidence base, and clear and concise instructions on practical implementation. In addition, the book covers the use of mobile technology to increase physical activity in people with mental illness, discusses exercise programming for inpatients, and presents behavioral and psychological approaches to maximize exercise interventions. Final sections provide practical strategies to both implement and evaluate physical activity interventions. Covers interventions for anxiety, depression, eating disorders, alcohol use disorder, and more Provides the evidence base for exercise as an effective treatment for mental illness Demonstrates how to use mobile technology to increase physical activity in people with mental illness Features practical strategies for implementation and assessment Covers treatment approaches for patients of all ages.

eISBN: 9781784506780
Print ISBN: 9781785927737

Develop children's brains and bonds with this collection of no-tech, physical games, strategies and activities. Ideal for children who have experienced neglect, abuse and trauma, these "real-world" experiences draw on therapeutic, trauma-focused-care play principles and promote positive attachment between child and caregivers. Explanations for how and why specific play themes and caregiver attitudes can help children's brain development enhance the text. The book also shows how children learn to problem-solve real life situations by playing them out, finding workable solutions to their own problems, and increasing their resiliency. Further benefits include better cause-effect thinking, impulse control, and increased cognitive and emotional functioning by practicing physical movements that exercise specific areas of the brain.

eISBN: 9780128113523
Print ISBN: 9780128113516

The Immune System and Mental Health fully investigates how immune-related cellular, molecular and anatomical changes impact mental functioning. The book combines human and animal studies to reveal immunological changes related to mental-health problems. In addition, users will find comprehensive information on new research related to the microbial composition of the gut, aka, the microbiome, and how it influences brain function and mental health. Common comorbidities with mental illness and their inherent immunological or inflammatory components are also covered. Written by leaders in the field, the book synthesizes basic and clinical research to provide a thorough understanding on the role of immunity in neuropsychiatry. Sociology, psychology, psychiatry, neuroscience and genetics have provided considerable explanations and solutions to some of the most intractable mental-health problems. But researchers are increasingly relying on investigations of the immune system to identify factors that can undermine and impair mental health. This book covers devastating mental-health conditions, such as depression, anxiety, schizophrenia, and autism-like spectrum disorders. In addition, degenerative disorders of the brain, such as Parkinson's and Alzheimer's-like dementia are explored. Considers both basic human and animal studies that address immunological changes relating to mental health problems across the lifespan Incorporates techniques, concepts and ideas from a variety of social, behavioral and life sciences Explores the relatively new area of the microbiome and how the microbial composition of the gut influences brain function and mental health.

eISBN: 9781782406297
Print ISBN: 9781782404835

Cycling is about more than competitive racing, lycra, and physical endurance; it's about joy, meditative wonder and spiritual enrichment. Mindful Thoughts for Cyclists presents a series of focused meditations on why and how cycling can be a powerful practice of mindful awareness. From the pleasure of riding down a hill, to finding the upsides of a flat, Nick Moore steers us on an enlightening journey through the true value of riding a bicycle.

eISBN: 9780780817142
Print ISBN: 9780780817135

Basic consumer health information about the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of sleep disorders in children and adults, along with facts about how and why people sleep, diseases that affect sleep and the health consequences of sleep deprivation.

eISBN: 9781642500387
Print ISBN: 9781642500370

An author and scientist shares how she learned to live well with chronic pain in this candid, practical guide to chronic pain management. Living with chronic pain effects far more than just your physical health. Every aspect of life is hampered by discomfort, and daily activities involve an ongoing negotiation between spontaneity and self-care. But it is possible to live a life beyond pain. Taming Chronic Pain provides a practical approach to pain management by someone who truly understands what it's like. Amy Orr explores the kind of struggles that only a fellow sufferer would recognize. She also discusses aspects of chronic conditions that most of us never consider. With humor and brutal honesty, she provides practical tips based on extensive research on every aspect of long-term physical suffering. The result is a straightforward and effective approach to pain management.