Resiliency: Teen Issues

Print ISBN: 9781440876875
EISBN: 9781440876882
Lcc: RJ499 .T446 2022

This encyclopedia provides a concise introduction to the mental health topics of greatest concern to adolescents. It offers young readers the information they need to better understand mental disorders and the importance of psychological well-being.Addressing mental illness and prioritizing psychological well-being are important at any age, but the teen years present unique challenges. Hormonal changes, peer pressure, and the demands of school and a busy social life combined with many other factors put adolescents at high risk for mental health problems. Certain disorders, such as depression and anxiety, are particularly prevalent in this age group, as are risky behaviors like substance abuse, self-harm, and distracted driving. Today's teens also face uniquely modern threats to their psychological well-being, such as Internet addiction and social media-induced fear of missing out (FOMO). Yet there are also ample opportunities for adolescents to strengthen their mental health and resiliency through such practices as meditation, activism, and youth leadership.Teen Mental Health: An Encyclopedia of Issues and Solutions is a ready-reference guide to the mental health topics that most affect the lives of American teens in the 21st century. Entries are accessibly written and feature extensive cross-referencing and helpful further reading lists. This volume also offers a collection of recommended resources, including a number of hotlines for teens in crisis.

Print ISBN: 9781648480003
EISBN: 9781648480027
Lcc: BF724.3.I58

For teens, confidence is key! This fully revised and updated edition of The Self-Esteem Workbook for Teens has everything you need to boost self-confidence, improve your social skills, balance social media use, and reach your goals. As a teen, it is incredibly important to have self-confidence, especially when you consider all the societal pressures teens face today, particularly about appearance and grades. Growing up in today's world is difficult, and in the midst of all this life-related stress, it's easy to magnify your own weaknesses and minimize--or even ignore--your true assets. This workbook can help. In this fully revised and updated second edition of The Self-Esteem Workbook for Teens, you'll learn to develop a healthy, realistic view of yourself that includes honest assessments of your weaknesses and strengths, and you will learn to respect yourself, faults and all. You'll also learn the difference between self-esteem and being self-centered, self-absorbed, or selfish. Finally, this book will show you how to distinguish the outer appearance of confidence from the quiet, steady, inner acceptance and humility of true self-esteem. This second edition includes practical exercises to help you deal with body image issues, be more assertive and set boundaries with others, and navigate difficult social situations--including bullying, cyberbullying and social media overload. You'll also find activities that promote healthy thinking habits and problem solving; tips for handling criticism, setbacks, and self-doubt; and strategies for developing self-awareness, self-acceptance, and self-worth. With the right amount of self-confidence, you will have the emotional resources you need to succeed and reach your goals. This workbook can help you get started, step by step. In these increasingly challenging times, kids and teens need mental health resources more than ever. With more than 1.6 million copies sold worldwide, Instant Help Books are easy to use, proven-effective, and recommended by therapists.

Print ISBN: 9781787755567
EISBN: 9781787755703
Lcc: RC489.M55

What can you really do in 10 minutes? You can make a cup of tea or coffee, walk about 0.6 miles and now, with this book, you can improve your mental health. No matter how busy or stressful your day, with 10-minute steps and quick exercises, you can better understand your experiences and learn how to survive setbacks. The book covers everything from dealing with worry and anxiety and building your confidence, to creating healthy life habits and positive relationships. It includes sections to read, questions to reflect on, video clips to watch and things to try out in your everyday life. Using evidence-based approaches like CBT and mindfulness, it will help you to get the best out of life and become the person you want to be.

EISBN: 9781743588369

This text is a guide for parents, guardians, and caregivers.

Print ISBN: 9780780819252
EISBN: 9780780819269

Consumer health information for teens about the causes, warning signs, and symptoms of mental health disorders, along with facts about treatment approaches and tips for teens on coping with stress, building self-esteem, and maintaining mental wellness.

Print ISBN: 9781440865589
EISBN: 9781440865596
Lcc: BF724.3.S86$b.Z363 2020

Life can be stressful, especially for teens, and this stress can have negative impacts on both physical and psychological health. This book answers readers' questions about the causes and consequences of stress and how it can be prevented and managed.Overscheduling, the pressure to get into a good college, bullying, body image, conflicts with friends, and social media are just a few of the many sources of stress for today's teens. And, while teens may face just as many, if not more, stressors than adults, they are less likely to have the coping mechanisms and stress management tools needed to effectively combat the stress they feel. Part of Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series, Teen Stress: Your Questions Answered follows a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. Each book in the series also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making.

Provides basic health information on anxiety and depression in teens and its various types, causes, risk factors, diagnosis, treatments, and coping methods. Includes an index, and a directory of organizations for additional help and information.

Print ISBN: 9780780817685
EIBSN: 9780780817739

Provides basic consumer health information for teens about posttraumatic stress disorder (PTSD); different types of trauma; and risk factors, co-occurring conditions, diagnosis, and treatment of PTSD. Includes index and resource information

Print ISBN: 9781785925337
EISBN: 9781784509293
Lcc: RJ503 .F67 2020

This book helps adults to understand firesetting behaviour in children and teens and provides strategies to work with them to address the behaviour. Drawing upon the latest juvenile firesetting research and utilising child development theory to underpin its safety messages, the book explores why young people might set fires in the first place and contextualises firesetting in terms of communication and gaining the attention of carers and other adults. The chapters lay out practical, tried-and-tested steps that professionals and carers can take to address firesetting behaviour, and suggests how to further support any child or teen who sets fires. This includes summaries of the latest evidence-based support strategies and a range of creative activities that can be used in direct work with children and teenagers who set fires, tailored to specific age ranges. Combining expert advice on firesetting behaviour with straightforward practices, this comprehensive book can be used by anyone working with young people to help them intervene and prevent it.

Print ISBN: 9781785928673
EISBN: 9781785928680

This practical resource looks at the relationship between mental illness and substance use disorders in young people. While studies show the link between the two, drug use is often mistakenly viewed as 'deviant' behaviour rather than as a coping mechanism for unmet needs. This book offers schools and youth settings a different approach to both supporting young people and implementing preventative measures. The concept of risk taking in young people is explored, as well as how stress, low self-esteem and body image issues can lead to substance use, including performance enhancing drugs and high caffeine drinks. Examples of how to address these issues through PSHE are addressed in each chapter, as well as tips for supporting individual pupils from expert practitioners and researchers in the field.

Print ISBN: 9781684031412
EISBN: 9781684031429
Lcc: HV875 .N456 2019

Written for teens who were adopted, this compassionate workbook will help give you the strength, resilience, and confidence you need to thrive--now and on into adulthood. If you're like many other adopted teens, you may wonder about your birth family. You may question why you were given up. And you may even grapple with feelings of isolation, abandonment, and broken trust. These feelings are valid and deserve to be addressed. This workbook is designed to help you open the door to questioning, explore painful feelings, and develop the skills needed to be a happy and grounded adult. The Adopted Teen Workbook teaches powerful self-resiliency, mindfulness, and somatic skills to help you explore your unique identity as an adopted teen. You'll find tools to manage loss and grief, and activities that include checklists, contemplations, skill-building, and journaling to help you chronicle present, past, and future relationships with both your adoptive and birth parents. This workbook begins with your first recognition of having been adopted and the feelings that come with that. You will then explore memories of the past and begin work on understanding emotions of anger, shame, and loss. Finally, you'll learn ways to heal these wounds, learn to trust, and fully connect with both yourself and others.

Print ISBN: 9781684031153
EISBN: 9781684031177
Lcc: BF724.3.A57 .T877 2018

Move past anxiety and discover what really matters to you. Written by three experts in teen mental health, this powerful workbook offers evidence-based activities grounded in acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) to help you cope with anxiety, build resilience, stop avoiding the things you fear, and lead a fuller, happier life. Anxiety is what we feel when we're scared about some future event that may or may not happen. When you're struggling with anxiety your mind is trying to protect you from danger, so it's busy telling you about all the things you can't do. Along with these thoughts come a host of feelings and bodily sensations--such as sweaty palms, restlessness, lightheadedness, and stomach aches. But it's not the anxious thoughts that make anxiety a problem. It's the actions we take, or don't take, as a result of these thoughts. In The Mindfulness and Acceptance Workbook for Teen Anxiety, you'll find helpful alternatives to the ineffective strategies and habits you're currently using to deal with anxiety, such as avoidance. You'll find basic information about anxiety to help you recognize what it looks and feels like, mindfulness tips to help you stay in the moment when you feel worried about the future, and tips to help you connect with your own values so you can start putting the important things in life first.

Print ISBN: 9781785927010
EISBN: 9781784502447

Adult adoptee and family therapist Katie Naftzger shares her personal and professional wisdom in this guide to help adoptive parents remain a calm parental influence in the midst of stormy and erratic teen behavior. This guide describes the essential skills you need to help your adopted teen confidently face the challenges of growing up and outlines four key goals for adoptive parents: · To move from rescuing to responding · To set adoption-sensitive limits and ground rules · To have connecting conversations · To help your teen envision their future Parenting in the Eye of the Storm contains invaluable insights for adoptive parents and simple strategies you can use to prepare your adopted teen for the journey ahead and strengthen the family bond in the process. It provides answers, guidance and understanding - working as a road-map through the tempestuous teenage years.

EISBN: 9780780814554
Lcc: HQ799.2.V56 .A287 2017

This text provides information for teens about abuse and violence.

Print ISBN: 9781462512300
EISBN: 9781462513000
Lcc: HQ796 -- .B2765 2014eb

If life with your teen has become a battleground, it's time to take action. This empathic book shows how. Trusted psychologists who have worked with thousands of families give you the tools you need to overcome defiance and get teen behavior back on track. By following the authors' clinically proven 10-step program, learn how you can:   *Reestablish your authority while building trust. *Identify and enforce nonnegotiable rules. *Use rewards and incentives that work. *Communicate and problem-solve effectively--even in the heat of the moment. *Restore positive feelings in your relationship. *Develop your teen's skills for becoming a successful adult.   Vivid stories and answers to frequently asked questions help you put the techniques into action. The updated second edition incorporates new scientific research on why some teens have more problems with self-control than others. Practical forms and worksheets can be downloaded and printed in a convenient 8 1/2" x 11" size. Mental health professionals, see also the authors' Defiant Teens, Second Edition: A Clinician's Manual for Assessment and Family Intervention. For a focus on younger children, see also Dr. Barkley's Defiant Children, Third Edition (for professionals), and Your Defiant Child, Second Edition (for parents).

Print ISBN: 9781440867354
EISBN: 9798216095231
LCC: BF724.3.F64 .H65 2021

This accessibly written book explores what friendship is and why it's so important to our well-being and provides practical suggestions for teens and young adults wishing to experience deeper, more fulfilling connections.What exactly separates a friend from an acquaintance? Can men and women really "just be friends"? How do friendships change as we move from childhood to adolescence to adulthood? How can you support a friend in need, and how should you address conflicts and misunderstandings? This book answers these and many other questions readers may have about friendship. Books in Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series follow a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. Each book also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making.

Print ISBN: 9781440872044
EISBN: 9798216164937

This book explores what identity is, what factors contribute to it, how it develops, and the impacts that a strong or weak sense of self can have on a person's health, happiness, and future. Many teens grapple with the seemingly simple question, "Who am I?" and struggle to integrate their experiences at school, at home, and with friends into their burgeoning sense of identity. How teens see themselves can influence the friends they choose, the decisions they make, and their mental and physical well-being. Having a strong sense of self can help them resist peer pressure, avoid risky behaviors, and make choices and plans that align with their values and interests. Yet research shows that such factors as heavy social media use can have a strongly negative effect on healthy identity formation for today's teens. Who Am I? Understanding Identity and the Many Ways We Define Ourselves examines the subjects of identity and identity formation across the lifespan, with special emphasis on the teenage years. Beyond simply discussing relevant psychological theories, the book focuses on how identity formation happens in the real world and how it affects the daily lives of teens. It also includes a collection of fictional case studies that provide concrete, relatable illustrations of concepts discussed in the book.