Resiliency: Stress

Print ISBN: 9780780819825
EISBN: 9780780819832

Stress-Related Disorders Sourcebook, Sixth Edition provides updated information about the origins and types of stress and describes physical- and mental-health disorders that may develop during and after stressful situations. Readers will learn about how stress worsens asthma, digestive disorders, infertility, and chronic pain. The book also discusses how stress contributes to mental-health problems, including depression, anxiety disorders, PTSD, and addiction to tobacco, alcohol, and drugs. Information about trauma, loss, and grief is presented, along with suggestions for managing stressful situations, such as aggressive driving, caregiver stress, economic hardship, and occupational stress. Tips on helping children and teens cope with stress are also offered, along with a glossary of related terms and a directory of resources.

Print ISBN: 9781440865589
EISBN: 9781440865596
Lcc: BF724.3.S86$b.Z363 2020

Life can be stressful, especially for teens, and this stress can have negative impacts on both physical and psychological health. This book answers readers' questions about the causes and consequences of stress and how it can be prevented and managed.Overscheduling, the pressure to get into a good college, bullying, body image, conflicts with friends, and social media are just a few of the many sources of stress for today's teens. And, while teens may face just as many, if not more, stressors than adults, they are less likely to have the coping mechanisms and stress management tools needed to effectively combat the stress they feel. Part of Greenwood's Q&A Health Guides series, Teen Stress: Your Questions Answered follows a reader-friendly question-and-answer format that anticipates readers' needs and concerns. Prevalent myths and misconceptions are identified and dispelled, and a collection of case studies illustrates key concepts and issues through relatable stories and insightful recommendations. Each book in the series also includes a section on health literacy, equipping teens and young adults with practical tools and strategies for finding, evaluating, and using credible sources of health information both on and off the internet--important skills that contribute to a lifetime of healthy decision-making.

Print ISBN: 9781642656992
EISBN: 9781642657005
Lcc: BF575.S75

Anxiety disorders are the most common mental illness diagnosis in America, and everyone experiences stress at some point in their life. Principles of Health: Anxiety & Stress provides both information about these conditions as well as support mechanisms and coping skills necessary to deal with them. Written in clear, accessible language, this volume is indispensable to anyone managing their own issues, their support network, and those interested in learning more about the mental health field. Topics cover Types of Anxiety Disorders, Mind-Body Connection, Coping Strategies, Stress Reduction, and Prevalence in the Adolescent Population. Essays are comprehensive and accessible to high school and undergraduate students and general readers interested in the study, mechanics, and treatment of anxiety and stress. Each essay includes Principal Terms, multiple subheads including an opening Summary, and Further Reading. The volume ends with a Glossary, Bibliography, and Subject Index.

Print ISBN: 9781642501186
EISBN: 9781642501193
Lcc: HQ2037

Master both major and minor tasks--by going back to the basics and writing out a simple checklist. It will change your life.   The checklist is one of the world's oldest--and most effective--productivity systems. If anything, says entrepreneur Alexandra Franzen, it is just as valuable now as it was during the days of the Roman Empire, allowing us to tangibly plan our day and set in stone what we want to accomplish. There are countless apps and organizational systems promising to help us straighten out our lives, but often they only add to the madness and leave us feeling drained and overwhelmed. Learn how to: · Choose your highest priorities · Set realistic goals · Celebrate tiny wins · Feel calmer every day   By physically writing down our tasks on a single piece of paper, we force ourselves to be realistic and limit how much we can do in a day. Too often, we cram our day with tasks and chores and leave almost no space for self-care or time with loved ones. We end up disappointed in our inability to complete our never-ending to-do list. Checklists help you accomplish what needs to be done--and enjoy things you want to be doing, too.   "There are thousands of books on how to become more organized and productive, but very few have the heart, soul, humor, and gentle encouragement of this book." --Ellen Fondiler, career and business strategist

Print ISBN: 9780128162408
EISBN: 9780128162415
Lcc: HV553 .O685 2020

Optimizing Community Infrastructure: Resilience in the Face of Shocks and Stresses examines the resilience measures being deployed within individual disciplines and sectors and how multi-stakeholder efforts can catalyze action to address global challenges in preparedness and disaster and hazard mitigation. The book provides a theoretical framework to advance thinking on creating resilient, inclusive, sustainable and safe communities. Users will find an accurate and up-to-date guide for working on the development, implementation, monitoring and assessment of policies, programs and projects related to community resilience. Provides updated information on resilience, especially on infrastructure, finance, land use, standards and policies Includes case studies that illustrate how communities have increased their resilience to natural and other disasters Analyzes the institutional, political, social and economic dimensions of resilience at the community level Illustrates the interdependencies and interconnectedness of infrastructure systems and how community resilience relies on a holistic approach Examines responses to emerging risks associated with climate change

Print ISBN: 9781787561847
EISBN: 9781787561830
Lcc: HM1001-1281

Volume 16 of Research in Occupational Stress and Well Beingis focused on how stress and well-being shape the experiences of military personnel both in and out of the combat zone. The book examines the connections between life in or after the military and employee stress, health, and well being.  Chapters in this volume include veterans' transitions into the workplace, work-family issues for military couples as well as children of parents in the military, post-traumatic stress disorder, psychopathy and emotion, the role of stress and well-being on performance in the military, resilience and stress interventions in military organizations and the use of drugs by soldiers and veterans as a coping mechanism for chronic pain.  The book showcases the work of the best researchers and theorists contributing to this field to provide a multidisciplinary and international collection that gives a thorough and critical assessment of knowledge, and major gaps in knowledge, on occupational stress and well being with a view to shaping future research both in military and civilian research literatures.

Print ISBN: 9781681239231
EISBN: 9781681239255

Work-related stress is costly not only to employees, but also to organizations and society. For example, it is estimated that work-related stress, depression, and anxiety costs British employers 1,035 per employee and that workplace stress costs the US economy up to $300 billion annually. However, elevated levels of stress often cannot be changed, and, if demands were not placed on employees, employee learning, organizational innovation, and societal economic growth would be hindered. Consequently, it is vital that occupational health practitioners, employees, employers and researchers strive to better understand and manage workplace stress, such that employee health and well-being can be improved. This book can assist organizations and individuals as they encounter workplace stress. This edition highlights research done by 25 authors across 12 chapters that challenges how work stress is viewed and assessed. Additionally, a number of social and psychological influences on the stress experience are examined. Our beliefs and expectations of stress and its results, whether helpful or hurtful, can have a profound influence on our stress experiences. Also, the way that we approach our work (e.g., job crafting) or the treatment we receive from others (e.g., with dignity) can either mitigate or exacerbate any harmful or beneficial effects of stress. Moreover, how we assess the psychological (e.g., burnout and well-being) or physiological (e.g., cortisol) outcomes of stress are meaningful, and the proper diagnosis of stress (e.g., stress surveys) underlies our understanding. We hope that the findings reported in these chapters and the insights of these scholars will provide ways for you and/or your organization to improve the health and well-being of employees.