Reference resources, bibliographies, and periodicals databases like these are ideal for a very broad overview of a topic, and can help you decide how to narrow down your search. They contain thousands of e-journals and articles that can be searched or browsed in your research.
Why? To discover potential sources by exploring 1M+ records from international periodicals covering the performing arts industry, from musical theater and opera, to magic and pantomime, to television and film
What? Abstract and indexes, with some full-text availability
When? 1864 - present
Why? To browse an index of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, compiled by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF)
What? Index with limited full-text availability
When? 1900 - present
Why? To explore the authoritative index of every film produced on American soil or by an American production company
What? Casting and production information and plot synopses
When? 1893 - present
Why? To explore a premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases in a wide expanse of subject areas
What? Encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and video
Why? To explore specific cultural concepts (e.g. death, health, money, or youth) through eras in human history
What? Subject guides, timelines, and pedagogical resources including lesson plans
When? Antiquity to modernity
Why? To access digitized copies of historic American periodicals
What? Newspaper and magazine articles
When? 1684 - 1877
Why? To watch archival and historical films from multiple sources
What? Newssreels, archival footage
When? 1900 - present
Why? To explore a full-text archive of scholarly journals, particularly strong in the arts and humanities, and access Artstor's 3M+ images
What? Journal archives, images
When? 1665 - present
Books and ebooks can provide a more in-depth look at a topic, place, design style, or historical moment. You can search our digital and in-library collections simultaneously by title, author, subject, or keyword via LibrarySearch. Click Advanced Search for additional search criteria such as material type, language, year, and more.
Cinematic Storytelling : the 100 most powerful film conventions every filmmaker must know by 
The Animation Studies Reader by 
How to make animated films : Tony White's complete masterclass on the traditional principles of animation by Why? To explore a full-text archive of scholarly journals, particularly strong in the arts and humanities, and access Artstor's 3M+ images
What? Journal archives, images
When? 1665 - present
Why? Search academic resources related to art, architecture, design, history, music, and theater
What? Full-text scholarly coverage
When? 1970 - present
Why? To find resources to support literary response and analysis from a diverse range of critics and viewpoints
What? Topic guides, literary works, reviews, and criticism
Why? To search the largest periodical resource available, bringing together databases across all major subject areas
What? Full-text articles
When? 1970 - present
Why? To access digitized copies of historic American periodicals
What? Newspaper and magazine articles
When? 1684 - 1877
Why? To discover potential sources by exploring 1M+ records from international periodicals covering the performing arts industry, from musical theater and opera, to magic and pantomime, to television and film
What? Abstract and indexes, with some full-text availability
When? 1864 - present
Why? To browse an index of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals, compiled by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF)
What? Index with limited full-text availability
When? 1900 - present