Library & Learning Commons: Contemporary Dance : Researching and Reference

Subject Guides for the School of Dance

Reference

Reference resources and bibliographies like these are ideal for a very broad overview of a topic, and can help you decide how to narrow down your search.

You can find more resources on choreography, technique, physiology and wellness, professional resources, dance performance reviews and criticism, and dance organizations and projects on our Dance Subject Guide.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance This link opens in a new window
Over 570 full-text scholarly and industry performing arts journals and books. Covers ballet, cinema, comedy, dance, drama, film, mime, opera, puppetry, and theatre.
International Encyclopedia of Dance This link opens in a new window
Information on all forms of dance and choreography.
American Ballet Theatre's Ballet Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of terms relating to and the performance of ballet, made available by the American Ballet Theatre.

Contemporary Dance Reference

Books and ebooks can provide a more in-depth look at a topic, place, design style, or historical moment. You can search our digital and in-library collections simultaneously by title, author, subject, or keyword via LibrarySearch. Click Advanced Search for additional search criteria such as material type, language, year, and more.

International Encyclopedia of Dance by Selma Jeanne Cohen (Editor); George Dorris (Editor); Thomas F. Kelly (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780195187632
Publication Date: 2004
A project of Dance Perspectives Foundation, this 6 volume set captures the fluid movement of dance, heavily illustrated with black-and-white photographs.
Ballet and Modern Dance : a concise history by Jack Anderson
Call Number: 3rd Floor Stacks ; GV1787 .A467 1992
ISBN: 0871271729
Publication Date: 1993-02-01
Now expanded and updated, this second edition of the original bestseller is an engaging interpretation of dance history--from the Ancient Greeks and European royal courts to the rise of the "American" ballet and the explosion of modern dance.

Research Articles

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of scholarly journals, particularly strong in the arts and humanities. For access, click 'Login' the top right of the JSTOR webpage, choose 'Sign in with Microsoft' and enter your UNCSA email and password.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly coverage of art, architecture, design, history, music and theater. from 1970 to the present.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Access numerous literary resources in one search.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
News and scholarly articles on business, social sciences, education, science and technology, arts and humanities, health and medical, and religion.

Primary Research

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Collection This link opens in a new window
Digital access to a comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1877.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of more than 160 international performing arts periodicals, covering dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.