Library : High School Science: Databases and Journals

What is a Database?

A database is an online collection of information. Databases can be composed of musical scores and recordings, images, journal or newspaper articles or entire books. They are typically searched by subject or title. We've listed general databases below. If you're off-campus, just login with your campus email and password.

Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Why? To research agriculture and environmental sciences
What? Scholarly, trade, and industry journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and government publications
When? 1960 - present
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Why? To research topics in biology
What? Conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs, and patents
Earth, Atmospheric, & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
Why? To explore scholarly journals, trade publications, and other sources on Earth, atmospheric, and aquatic science topics
What? Scholarly and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications
Gale in Context: High School This link opens in a new window
Why? To explore important topics within business and economics, government, history, literature, science, and social issues, via materially specifically designed to support national curriculum standards
What? Topic guides, articles
Materials Science Database This link opens in a new window
Why? To search through coverage on topics like aerospace and aircraft engineering and soldering and welding, spanning thousands of publications, many in full text
What? Abstracts and indexes, full-text articles
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Why? To search the largest periodical resource available, bringing together databases across all major subject areas
What? Full-text articles
When? 1970 - present
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Why? To understand the pros and cons of leading current and enduring social issues such as affordable housing, gun control, and fast fashion
What? Articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents, and reference materials

Journals

American Forests
American Forests creates healthy and resilient forests, from cities to large natural landscapes, that deliver essential benefits for climate, people, water and wildlife. We advance our mission through forestry innovation, place-based partnerships to plant and restore forests, and movement building.
Ecology
Ecology publishes articles that report on the basic elements of ecological research. Emphasis is placed on concise, clear articles documenting important ecological phenomena.
Journal of High School Science
The Journal of High School Science is a peer-reviewed STEAM publication showcasing the ideas and innovative contributions of high school students in the realm of science, technology, engineering, arts, and mathematics.
National Geographic
National Geographic is an American monthly magazine supporting a diverse, international community of changemakers — National Geographic Explorers — who use the power of science, exploration, education, and storytelling to illuminate and protect the wonder of our world published by National Geographic Partners.
The National High School Journal of Science
The National High School Journal of Science is a free, online, student-run and peer-reviewed research journal that is targeted towards high school students.
Yale journal of biology and medicine (Online)
The Yale Journal of Biology and Medicine is a PubMed-indexed, open-access, quarterly journal edited by Yale medical, graduate, and professional students and peer-reviewed by an extensive network of experts in the fields of biology and medicine. The Journal aims to showcase outstanding research articles from all areas of biology and medicine, to publish significant case reviews, and to provide both perspectives on personal experiences in medicine and reviews of the current state of biology and medicine.