Library : Dance: Choreography and Technique

Reference

Reference resources are ideal for a broad overview of a topic. They provide a good starting place if you want to learn more about any subject.

CREDO Reference This link opens in a new window
A premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and videos in a wide expanse of subject areas.
International Encyclopedia of Dance This link opens in a new window
Information on all forms of dance and choreography.

We also have print reference books about dance on the second floor.

Books

Books and ebooks can provide a more in-depth look at a topic, place, style, or historical moment. You can search our digital and physical collections simultaneously by title, author, subject, or keyword through the catalog. Click Advanced Search for additional search criteria like material type, language, and year of publication. On the third floor you can browse biographies of choreographers, books about choreography and technique, and much more in the call number range from GV1580 to GV1800.

Here are some simple catalog searches to get you started. Use the filters on the left side of the results screen to limit your search by resource type, author, date of creation, and more!

Choreography
Physical and electronic books and videos about choreography in ballet and modern dance
Technique
Physical and electronic books and videos about technique in dance

Articles

Articles from magazines and scholarly journals provide a deeper dive into specific subjects. Here are a few titles of interest to dancers:

American Journal of Dance Therapy
Contents available online from 1997 to one year before present date.
Dance Chronicle
Contents available online from 1977 to one year before present date.
Dance Magazine
Contents available online from 1994 to present. Older print copies available in 3rd floor stacks.
Dance Research
Contents available online from 1974 to one year before present date.

Also look under "Databases" below for more resources that provide access to articles.

Databases

You can find all of our databases in our A-Z List, but here are a few of particular interest:

Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material. Includes journals such as Dance and Contact.
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance This link opens in a new window
Over 570 full-text scholarly and industry performing arts journals and books. Covers ballet, cinema, comedy, dance, drama, film, mime, opera, puppetry, and theatre.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage of more than 160 international performing arts periodicals, covering dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.

Open Access Digital Resources

You can use open access resources from any computer, anywhere, whether or not you have a UNCSA affiliation--they are free to all!

Purchase Requests and Interlibrary Loan

If we don't have access to a title you are looking for, please consider making an interlibrary loan request or purchase request. Interlibrary loan means we will look for another library that owns the title that might be willing to loan it out to us for a limited period of time. A purchase request means that the UNCSA library will purchase a copy to add to our collection.