Library & Learning Commons: Wig and Makeup: Wig and Makeup Reference + History

Physical Materials in the Library

Selected Print Books

The Makeup Artist Handbook: Techniques for Film, Television, Photography, and Theatre by Gretchen Davis; Mindy Hall
Call Number: PN1995.9.M25 D38 2017 - New Books, Lobby (1st Floor)
ISBN: 9781138200562
Publication Date: 2017
This full-color, comprehensive new edition offers brand new photographs and on-the-job examples to demonstrate makeup techniques and fundamentals on topics such as beauty, time periods, black and white photography, and up-to-date information on cutting-edge techniques like computer-generated characters, makeup effects, mold-making, air brushing, and plenty of information on how to work effectively on set.
Historical Wig Styling: Ancient Egypt to The 1830s by Allison Lowery
Call Number: TT975 .L83 2013 - Stacks (3rd Floor)
ISBN: 9780240821238
Publication Date: 2013
Guide to creating beautiful, historically accurate hairstyles for productions and events. Chapters begin with artwork of historic figures that influenced the look of each period. Detailed step-by-step instructions explain how to create their iconic hairstyles, illustrated by photographs showing the finished look from every angle.
Historical Wig Styling: Victorian to the Present by Allison Lowery
Call Number: TT975 .L832 2013 - Stacks (3rd Floor)
ISBN: 9780240821245
Publication Date: 2013
Guide to creating beautiful, historically accurate hairstyles for productions and events. Chapters begin with artwork of historic figures that influenced the look of each period. Detailed step-by-step instructions explain how to create their iconic hairstyles, illustrated by photographs showing the finished look from every angle.
Character Make-up by Paul Thompson; Gilbert Romero
Call Number: PN2068 .T465 2008 - Stacks (3rd Floor)
ISBN: 098023185X
Publication Date: 2008
Covers facial analysis, base matching and application, correction, contours, highlights, as well as a focus on eyes and lips.
Special Makeup Effects for Stage and Screen by Todd Debreceni
Call Number: PN2068 .D43 2019 - Stacks (3rd Floor)
ISBN: 9780240809960
Publication Date: 2019
Dedicated solely to SFX, this book covers the many genres that need a special effects makeup artist, like horror, fantasy, and sci-fi. Covers the tools you will need, how to maintain your toolkit, how to take care of the actor's skin, how to airbrush properly when HD is involved, and how to sculpt and mold your own makeup prosthetics, focusing on how human anatomy relates to sculpture to create the most realistic effects.
General Anatomy and Musculoskeletal System by Michael Schuenke
Call Number: Ref. QM25 .S38 2010 - Reference (2nd Floor)
ISBN: 9781604062922
Publication Date: 2010
A vast collection of anatomical images. Includes 1,700 original, full-color illustrations.
Head and Neuroanatomy by Michael Schuenke
Call Number: Ref. QM535 .S38 2010 - Reference (2nd Floor)
ISBN: 9781604062960
Publication Date: 2010
Includes 1,182 original, full-color illustrations that skillfully guide the reader through the anatomy of the head, from cranial bones, ligaments, and joints, to muscles, cranial nerves, topographical anatomy, and the anatomy of sensory organs.

Searching the Library Collections

Materials in the library are organized by subject. Browsing the art shelves of the library in-person can help you discover new work, materials, inspiration, and connections. Listed below are general call number ranges for costume and fashion at UNCSA Library:

GT495-499 - Human body and its parts; Personal beauty
PN2067-2068 - Theatrical Costume and Makeup Design
TT950-979 - Hairdressing; Beauty culture; Barbers' work

You can search our digital and in-library collections simultaneously by title, author, subject, or keyword via LibrarySearch. Click Advanced Search for additional search criteria (like material type, language, year, etc.).

Digital Resources

Selected Ebooks

A Practical Guide to Wig Making and Wig Dressing by Melanie Bouvet
ISBN: 9781785004452
Publication Date: 2019
With style inspiration ranging from the seventeenth to the twentieth century,this title is a comprehensive introduction to the knowledge and techniques required to produce beautiful, durable and historical hairstyles able to withstand the demands of performance.
Color Theory for the Makeup Artist by Katie Middleton
ISBN: 9781138095250
Publication Date: 2018
This book analyzes traditional color theory for fine artists and applies it to the make-up artist. It explains why we see color, how to categorize and identify color, relationships between colors, and it relates these concepts to beauty and special effects make-up. The book teaches the reader how to mix flesh tones by using only primary colors, and explains how these colors in paints and make-up are sourced and created. It also discusses the reason for variations in skin colors and undertones, and how to identify and match these using make-up, while choosing flattering colors for the eyes, lips, and cheeks.
Art and Makeup by Lan Nguyen-Grealis
ISBN: 1780674856
Publication Date: 2015
Art & Makeup is a stunning showcase of work created by award-winning make-up artist, Lan Nguyen-Grealis. The looks created specially for the book are inspired by the worlds of art, sculpture, cinema and performance art - references include Picasso, Warhol, Marie Antoinette, Cleopatra, Mad Men, and The Great Gatsby. The book combines inspirational imagery with step-by-step deconstruction of the techniques, and includes photography from Rankin.
Hair: Styling, Culture, and Fashion by Geraldine Biddle-Perry and Sarah Cheang (eds)
ISBN: 9781847887191
Publication Date: 2008
Explores the social importance of hair, presenting a new critical engagement with hair and its stories, histories, performances, and rituals.

NOTE: Hair: Styling, Culture, and Fashion is also available as a print book in the library.

Databases + Web Resources

Ad* Access This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly coverage, analysis, and criticism of fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. Includes more than 380 full-text journals and nearly 220 full-text books.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly coverage of art, architecture, design, history, music and theater. from 1970 to the present.