Library & Learning Commons: Technical Direction + Scenic Tech + Stage Automation: Technical Reference + Research

Digital Resources

Selected Tech Ebooks

Drafting for the Theatre by Dennis Dorn; Mark Shanda
ISBN: 9780809387731
Publication Date: 2012
Industry-standard drafting and designing practices with step-by-step discussions, illustrations, worksheets, and problems to help students develop and refine drafting and other related skills needed for entertainment set production work.
Stage Rigging Handbook by Jay O. Glerum
ISBN: 9780809387649
Publication Date: 2007
Succinct and jargon free, Stage Rigging Handbook covers the design, operation, and maintenance of stage-rigging equipment.
Dictionary of Industrial Terms by Michael Holloway; Chikezie Nwaoha
ISBN: 9781118589007
Publication Date: 2013
Comprehensive dictionary of maintenance and reliability terms, covering the process, manufacturing, and other related industries, every major area of engineering used in industry, and more. The over 15,000 entries are supplemented by hundreds of figures and tables that clearly demonstrate the principles & concepts behind important process control, instrumentation, reliability, machinery, asset management, lubrication, corrosion, and more.
Practical Hydraulic Systems by Ravi Doddannavar; Andries Barnard; Jayaraman Ganesh
ISBN: 9780080455488
Publication Date: 2005
Covers fundamentals of hydraulic applications, helping you to improve your maintenance programs and become an excellent troubleshooter of problems in this area.
Dictionary of Architecture and Construction by Cyril M. Harris
ISBN: 9780071452373
Publication Date: 2006
Comprehensive in scope, this title's range spans terms encountered in the practice of architecture from Classical to green, from traditional materials to the latest products, from precise definitions of architectural styles to the particulars of specifications writing.
Construction Project Management by S. Keoki Sears
ISBN: 9781118745250
Publication Date: 2015
Guide to all aspects of the construction project management process, including the Critical Path Method (CPM) of project scheduling.

Subject Databases

Science Database This link opens in a new window
Applied and general science articles covering topics such as global warming, alternative energy sources, and robotic engineering.

Physical Materials in the Library

Searching the Library Collections

Materials in the library are organized by subject. Browsing the shelves of the library in-person can help you discover new work, materials, inspiration, and connections. Listed below are general call number ranges for technical elements of theatre at UNCSA Library:

PN 2085-2091 - Theatre > Stage and Accessories
T59.5 - Automation
TA349-359 - Mechanics of engineering; Applied mechanics
TJ170-179 - Mechanics applied to machinery; dynamics
TJ210.2-211.47 - Mechanical devices and figures; automata; robots (general)
TK7800-8360 - Electronics

You can search our digital and in-library collections simultaneously by title, author, subject, or keyword via LibrarySearch. Click Advanced Search for additional search criteria (like material type, language, year, etc.).

Selected Print Books

Technical Briefs (Volumes 1-3) by Yale University School of Drama, Department of Technical Design and Production
Call Number: PN2091.S8 T42 - Reference (2nd Floor)
Publication Date: 1992-2012
A collection of single-focus articles detailing technical production solutions from the Yale School of Drama. The primary objective of the publication was to share creative solutions to technical problems so that fellow theatre technicians can avoid having to reinvent the wheel with each new challenge. The range of topics includes scenery, props, painting, projections, sound, and costumes. Each article describes an approach, device, or technique that has been tested onstage or in a shop.
Introductory Stagecraft by Stephen Green
Call Number: PN2091.S8 G734 2016 - Stacks (3rd Floor)
Publication Date: 2016
By UNCSA TD alum Stephen Green, this book covers the basics of constructing scenery for use in live entertainment. Topics range from backstage job titles and descriptions, to commonly used building materials, hardware, tools and standard construction techniques for scenery.
Electricity for the Entertainment Electrician and Technician by Richard Cadena
Call Number: TK152 .C2185 2014 - Stacks (3rd Floor)
ISBN: 9780415714839
Publication Date: 2014
Covers the application of electricity for the theatre, concert stage, television studio, and other production environments. Includes the fundamentals of electricity, power distribution, and electrical safety, as well as the latest developments in technology for the live entertainment professional and aspiring professional.
Shock and Vibration by Cyril M. Harris; Allan G. Piersol; Thomas L. Paez
Call Number: Ref. TA355 .S5164 2010 - Reference (2nd Floor)
ISBN: 9780071508193
Publication Date: 2009
This comprehensive resource provides all the information you need to design, analyze, install, and maintain systems subject to mechanical shock and vibration. The book covers theory, instrumentation, measurement, testing, control methodologies, and practical applications.