Resiliency: Substance Use and Harm Reduction

The American Opioid Epidemic: From Patient Care to Public Health provides practicing psychiatrists, trainees, and other mental health professionals with the latest information on opioid addiction, including misuse of heroin and other illicit opioids, the role of prescription analgesic opioids, and recent overdose trends. Although highly effective in relieving acute pain, opioids can cause untold damage to people's lives, health, and social structures. Recognizing the efficacy of these drugs when prescribed appropriately, the editors call not for eliminating access or for incarcerating those who are addicted, but for changing the patterns of prescribing and use. The crisis is analyzed by expert contributors from a wide variety of perspectives; they address issues of epidemiology and toxicology, prevention and harm reduction, and common comorbidities. Stressing that prevention and treatment do work, expert contributors provide down-to-earth, public-health-focused strategies that clinicians and public health workers alike will find indispensable. Moreover, the use of clinical vignettes and key chapter points help ground the reader and highlight the most important concepts.The book is comprehensive in its exploration of all facets of the crisis: * A thorough overview of prescription opioids is presented, including descriptions of the agents and their physiological effects, details on the origins of the opioid prescription use and misuse epidemic, current national trends in the nonmedical use of these prescription medications, and the consequences of long-term use of prescription opioids, such as the risk of initiating use of heroin and other illegal opioids.* Screening, assessment, and treatment planning for opioid use disorder is explored in detail, as is the pathophysiology, clinical signs, and management of opioid withdrawal.* The epidemiology, pathophysiology, and toxicology of opioid-related overdose are covered, guiding clinicians in key principles of overdose management--from evaluation to treatment to prevention. Readers will learn about the pharmacology and clinical use of the main opioid overdose reversal agent, naloxone, as well as the toxic profiles of the most common opioids implicated in overdose deaths.* The social determinants of the opioid epidemic are addressed from historical, demographic, and socioeconomic perspectives, as well as the pharmaceutical marketing-related, regulatory, and governmental policy-oriented factors that shape health disparities around opioid addiction and its consequences.* Harm reduction programs, including syringe access programs, overdose prevention education (including naloxone training and dispensing), education for safe injection practices, and facilitating access to opioid agonist treatment, are thoroughly explored. Harm reduction strategies that clinicians can use with individual patients are also discussed. The American Opioid Epidemic: From Patient Care to Public Health provides an in-depth look at clinical and public health approaches to this epidemic from both psychiatric and medical perspectives and gives mental health professionals the big picture necessary to understand the epidemic, as well as the clinical detail required to help patients avoid or overcome opioid addition.

eISBN: 9781414498959
Print ISBN: 9781414498881

Substance abuse and dependence

Pages 3,235 - 3,241

This set provides more than 1,000 entries covering topics in nursing and allied health written for students and professionals in the field. Alphabetically arranged entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. Covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, and respiratory therapy.

eISBN: 9781615373802
Print ISBN: 9781615373796

Chapter 3 - Effects of Concurrent Substance Use

People with serious mental illness get sick and die 10-20 years earlier than their same age cohort. The social determinants are many: stigma associated with mental illness, poverty, ethnicity-based discrimination, higher rates of smoking and alcohol and drug use, and poor diet and exercise patterns, to name a few. Although multiple interventions have emerged as ways to combat these health challenges, additional research is necessary for the continued development and evaluation of strategies. This context serves as the springboard for Health and Wellness in People Living With Serious Mental Illness. Through multiple case vignettes, the book delves into the challenges of health and wellness for people with mental illness--including those listed above--summarizing the research on mortality and morbidity in this group as well as information about the status quo on wellness. It also provides a thorough description of community-based participatory research (CBPR), an approach that includes people in a community as partners in all facets of research, rather than just the subjects of that research. CBPR acts as the lens through which this guide considers solutions to these health problems, including integrated services and patient-centered medical homes; medical practices that diminish the iatrogenic effects of psychiatry; psychoeducation; interpersonal supports; and shared decision-making. Co-edited by Patrick Corrigan, with a 30-year history in services research, and Sonya Ballentine, a community-based member of a CBPR team, this volume offers a grounded, real-world illustration of CBPR in practice. Students of psychiatry, practicing clinicians, primary care providers, allied health professionals, policy makers--all will find, in the pages of this book, a nuanced portrait of the health challenges patients with mental illness face, possible treatment options, and future directions for the field.

"Just say no" just doesn't work for everyone. If you've tried to quit and failed, simply want to cut down, or wish to work toward sobriety gradually, join the many thousands of readers who have turned to this empathic, science-based resource--now thoroughly revised. A powerful alternative to abstinence-only treatments, harm reduction helps you set and meet your own goals for gaining control over alcohol and drugs. Step by step, the expert authors guide you to determine: *Which aspects of your habits may be harmful. *How to protect your safety and make informed choices. *What changes you would like to make. *How to put your intentions into action. *When it's time to seek help--and where to turn. Updated to reflect a decade's worth of research, the fully revised second edition is even more practical. It features additional vivid stories and concrete examples, engaging graphics, new worksheets (which you can download and print for repeated use), "Self-Reflection" boxes, and more. Mental health professionals, see also the authors' Practicing Harm Reduction Psychotherapy, Second Edition.

eISBN: 9780429515132
Print ISBN: 9780367195540

The Routledge Handbook of Social Work and Addictive Behaviors is a definitive resource about addictive behaviors, emphasizing substance misuse, gambling, and problematic technology use. Contents address their prevalence in various communities and populations globally, theories related to their origins and etiology, and what is currently known about effective intervention strategies, education, and research. Social work's biopsychosocial, lifespan, and person-in-environment perspectives underpin the book contents which are applicable to a wide range of professional and social science disciplines. Contents are divided into five sections: The scope and nature of addictive behavior and related problems Addictive behavior across the lifespan and specific populations Interventions to prevent and address addictive behavior and related problems Issues frequently co-occurring with addictive behavior Moving forward This handbook provides students, practitioners, and scholars with a strong focus on cutting-edge high-quality research. With contributions from a global interdisciplinary team of leading scholars, this handbook is relevant to readers from social work, public health, psychology, education, sociology, criminal justice, medicine, nursing, human services, and health professions.

eISBN: 9781118791059
Print ISBN: 9781118791356

Chapter 17 - Substance-Related and Addictive Disorders

The bestselling treatment guide, updated to reflect changes to the DSM-5 Selecting Effective Treatmentsprovides a comprehensive resource for clinicians seeking to understand the symptoms and dynamics of mental disorders, in order to provide a range of treatment options based on empirically effective approaches. This new fifth edition has been updated to align with the latest changes to the DSM-5, and covers the latest research to help you draw upon your own therapeutic preferences while constructing an evidence-based treatment plan. Organized for quick navigation, each disorder is detailed following the same format that covers a description, characteristics, assessment tools, effective treatment options, and prognosis, including the type of therapy that is likely to be most successful treating each specific disorder. Updated case studies, treatments, and references clarify the latest DSM-5 diagnostic criteria, and the concise, jargon-free style makes this resource valuable to practitioners, students, and lay people alike. Planning treatment can be the most complicated part of a clinician's job. Mental disorders can be complex, and keeping up with the latest findings and treatment options can itself be a full time job. Selecting Effective Treatments helps simplify and organize the treatment planning process by putting critical information and useful planning strategies at your fingertips Get up to speed on the latest changes to the DSM-5 Conduct evidence-based treatment suited to your therapeutic style Construct Client Maps to flesh out comprehensive treatment plans Utilize assessment methods that reflect the changes to the DSM-5 multiaxial system Effective treatment begins with strategic planning, and it's important to match the intervention to your own strengths, preferences, and style as much as to the client's needs. Selecting Effective Treatments gives you the latest information and crucial background you need to provide the evidence-backed interventions your clients deserve.

eISBN: 9781119257592
Print ISBN: 9781119257585

Chapter 7 - Gender and Substance Use in Education

Research into gender equity in higher education, inspiring action With this enlightening handbook, you can review the thinking of leading researchers on the current intersection of gender and higher education. The Wiley Handbook of Gender Equity in Higher Education provides an in-depth look at education's complicated relationships with, and in some cases inadequate fostering of, gender equity. The collection offers a bold picture of research into the subject. It also projects future paths of exploration, inquiry, and action for gender equity. Focuses specifically on gender and higher education across the globe, setting the stage for new explorations Examines gender equity in relation to the STEM fields Considers current male participation in higher education Covers gender segregation by major and the issue of women remaining in lower-paying areas The Wiley Handbook of Gender Equity in Higher Education spotlights the continuing and integral role of educational institutions in the struggle for gender equity. Policy makers, university administrators, and researchers can look to this handbook for perspective on recent research as they move forward in the pursuit of more equitable educational environments.

eISBN: 9781394259427
Print ISBN: 9781118653333
doi: 10.1002/9781394259427.ch3

This hands-on guide addresses the present day realities of applying dialectical behavior therapy in a mental health and substance abuse recovery context. The book presents the DBT concept, Wise Mind, as adapted by author Andrew Bein, as central to a simple, powerful, empirically supported framework that respectfully engages clients in their own efforts to enhance personal well-being. The book includes empirically supported exercises with an emphasis on collaboration and client empowerment using a recovery oriented model for client treatment and improved outcomes.

eISBN: 9781684038121
Print iSBN: 9781684038107

Break the addiction cycle once and for all with this powerful and compassionate workbook--now fully revised and updated! If you struggle with addiction, know that you are not alone. Addictive behaviors are often the result of loss--the loss of a job, the death of a loved one, or even the end of a romantic relationship. If you're like many others, you may have turned to drugs, alcohol, or other troubling behaviors to avoid the pain of loss. But this only delays the healing process, and can ultimately lead to a destructive cycle that leaves you feeling trapped. So, how can you break free? This second edition of The Mindfulness Workbook for Addiction will help you identify the root of your addictive behaviors while providing healthy coping strategies to deal with the stress, anxiety, and depression that can come from experiencing a loss. With these powerful mindfulness exercises and lifestyle tips, you will be able to replace addictive behaviors with healthy behaviors to begin healing. This workbook will help you: Determine the function your addiction is serving Develop healthy coping skills for dealing with loss Accept your thoughts and emotions Avoid addiction "triggers" Heal broken relationships and build a support system   No matter the loss, the mindfulness skills in this workbook will allow you to process your grief and replace your addiction with healthy coping behaviors.