Resiliency: Children

Print ISBN: 9789463008228
EISBN: 9789463008242
Lcc: L1-991

The Art of Collaboration: Lessons from Families of Children with Disabilities, co-authored by two professors of education and a parent of a child with disabilities, draws on the literature as well as original research to explore the meaning of collaboration and the benefits and barriers to developing positive school and family partnerships. The voices and stories of families of children with a variety of disabilities and experiences are at the heart of the book, providing insights into how we might re-conceptualize collaboration as an ongoing process and an "art" built on a shared commitment to improving the lives of children and families. The book begins with an overview of the research on collaboration and explores key themes, including the process of identifying a disability, the meaning of parent knowledge and expertise in the digital age, the potential to join parent and professional knowledge for the benefit of the child and family, and approaches leading to meaningful collaboration and communication. These include a variety of family-centered tools and practices, strategies for promoting parent advocacy and leadership, and a focus on hope and resiliency. Each chapter concludes with questions for reflection and suggested activities, making it an ideal resource for both parents and professionals. Throughout, the authors critique the collaborative process, while focusing on its promises and possibilities for families, educators, and other professionals.

Print ISBN: 9781785925337
EISBN: 9781784509293
Lcc: RJ503 .F67 2020

This book helps adults to understand firesetting behaviour in children and teens and provides strategies to work with them to address the behaviour. Drawing upon the latest juvenile firesetting research and utilising child development theory to underpin its safety messages, the book explores why young people might set fires in the first place and contextualises firesetting in terms of communication and gaining the attention of carers and other adults. The chapters lay out practical, tried-and-tested steps that professionals and carers can take to address firesetting behaviour, and suggests how to further support any child or teen who sets fires. This includes summaries of the latest evidence-based support strategies and a range of creative activities that can be used in direct work with children and teenagers who set fires, tailored to specific age ranges. Combining expert advice on firesetting behaviour with straightforward practices, this comprehensive book can be used by anyone working with young people to help them intervene and prevent it.

Print ISBN: 9789264563087
EISBN: 9789264959941
Lcc: HN25 .E383 2019

What is the nature of childhood today? On a number of measures, modern children's lives have clearly improved thanks to better public safety and support for their physical and mental health. New technologies help children to learn, socialise and unwind, and older, better-educated parents are increasingly playing an active role in their children's education. At the same time, we are more connected than ever before, and many children have access to tablets and smartphones before they learn to walk and talk. Twenty-first century children are more likely to be only children, increasingly pushed to do more by "helicopter parents" who hover over their children to protect them from potential harm. In addition to limitless online opportunities, the omnipresent nature of the digital world brings new risks, like cyber-bullying, that follow children from the schoolyard into their homes. This report examines modern childhood, looking specifically at the intersection between emotional well-being and new technologies. It explores how parenting and friendships have changed in the digital age. It examines children as digital citizens, and how best to take advantage of online opportunities while minimising the risks. The volume ends with a look at how to foster digital literacy and resilience, highlighting the role of partnerships, policy and protection.

Print ISBN: 9780226621432
EISBN: 9780226621579
Lcc: RJ501

Before the 1940s, children in the United States with severe emotional difficulties would have had few options for care. The first option was usually a child guidance clinic within the community, but they might also have been placed in a state mental hospital or asylum, an institution for the so-called feebleminded, or a training school for delinquent children. Starting in the 1930s, however, more specialized institutions began to open all over the country. Staff members at these residential treatment centers shared a commitment to helping children who could not be managed at home. They adopted an integrated approach to treatment, employing talk therapy, schooling, and other activities in the context of a therapeutic environment.   Emotionally Disturbed is the first work to examine not only the history of residential treatment but also the history of seriously mentally ill children in the United States. As residential treatment centers emerged as new spaces with a fresh therapeutic perspective, a new kind of person became visible--the emotionally disturbed child. Residential treatment centers and the people who worked there built physical and conceptual structures that identified a population of children who were alike in distinctive ways. Emotional disturbance became a diagnosis, a policy problem, and a statement about the troubled state of postwar society. But in the late twentieth century, Americans went from pouring private and public funds into the care of troubled children to abandoning them almost completely. Charting the decline of residential treatment centers in favor of domestic care-based models in the 1980s and 1990s, this history is a must-read for those wishing to understand how our current child mental health system came to be.

Print ISBN: 9781785927737
EISBN: 9781784506780

Develop children's brains and bonds with this collection of no-tech, physical games, strategies and activities. Ideal for children who have experienced neglect, abuse and trauma, these "real-world" experiences draw on therapeutic, trauma-focused-care play principles and promote positive attachment between child and caregivers. Explanations for how and why specific play themes and caregiver attitudes can help children's brain development enhance the text. The book also shows how children learn to problem-solve real life situations by playing them out, finding workable solutions to their own problems, and increasing their resiliency. Further benefits include better cause-effect thinking, impulse control, and increased cognitive and emotional functioning by practicing physical movements that exercise specific areas of the brain.

eBook ISBN: 9781683732129
Print ISBN: 9781683732105

Whether you're in the therapy office, a classroom, in the city, or the countryside, using nature-based activities with children is always possible, and incredibly therapeutic. By integrating these activities with mindfulness, therapists and educators can harness the power of both treatments, and help children become calm, alert and happier human beings. Mindfulness and Nature-Based Therapeutic Techniques for Children provides evidence-based, practical, accessible and FUN activities to promote: Self-regulation Cognitive and emotional development Physical development Sensory regulation Play and creativity Empathy Resilience to cope with trauma and grief Dozens of activities for children of all ages!

Print ISBN: 9781787757134
EISBN: 9781787757141

Mind Mechanics is a comprehensive resource to support schools in teaching pupils about mental health. Drawing on a wide range of therapeutic interventions, including CBT, Behavioural Activation and Compassion-Focussed Therapy, it provides activities and lesson plans to empower children with the skills they need to manage their mental health throughout life. The book contains lesson plans, games and activities, assessment tools and information on risk factors and specific issues that might impact children. It also features photocopiable and downloadable worksheets, making the provision of mental health teaching simple. Mind Mechanics can be used flexibly as a full programme as part of the school's Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship curriculum, as a targeted intervention for a group or individual, or as a resource bank of individual activities to use as and when needed.

Print ISBN: 9781785920219
EISBN: 9781784502676
Lcc: HQ767.9.T486 2016eb

This collection of fun and adaptable activities, games, stories and handouts is a complete resource for supporting children coping with stress and difficult emotions. From engaging arts and crafts, to interactive stories and relaxing meditations, all the interventions and activities are thematically structured so that each chapter contains the means for building specific skills or overcoming behavioral issues. Each chapter contains suggested goals, positive affirmations and photocopiable handouts to enable a child to continue practising and learning new life skills outside of sessions with parents or professionals. The activities in this book are ideal for use with children aged 3-12 to help them rebalance and gain a strong grasp on their emotions.

Print ISBN: 9781839972775
EISBN: 9781839972782

'My child just came out to me as trans: What should I do?' If you are a parent looking for an answer to this question, you have come to the right place. Gathering together practical advice and personal experiences from a range of parents, activists and experts, this FAQ book provides answers to the most common questions you will have as a parent of a transgender child. What if they change their minds? How do I make sure my child is safe at school? How do we tell our other children? Sharing their experiences of how they navigated their child's transition to raise a happy and healthy child, the parents in this book will give you the tools you need to support your trans child to thrive, while the experts provide a research-based perspective on supporting trans youth. With answers to everything you need to know - from social transition, mental health and medical care, through to schools, faith and your personal feelings as a parent - this is the ultimate resource for any family with a trans child.

Print ISBN: 9789814893817
EISBN: 9789814893961

Activities to develop your 8-12 year old child's mental and emotional well-being. All parents want their child to be happy and make a positive impact on the world. Children learn to be agile and resilient, developing their academic and life skills as well as emotional well-being as they grow. A child depends a lot on their parents and teachers for guidance so they can understand and manage their emotions, as well as set and achieve positive goals. Though not often expressed, all this learning is actually an important aspect of what is Mindfulness. This book is organized into 30 topics or themes which can be used for weekly discussion between parent and child. The author also provides ideas on how parents can use the activities to engage the child to deepen their social emotional health using mindfulness. Children can explore the activities, reflections, experiments and mindful coloring and have fun, while learning.

Print ISBN: 9780398091828
EISBN: 9780398091835
Lcc: RJ506.L4.B643 2017

The first edition, Prescriptions for Children with Learning and Adjustment Problems, was published in 1972 (Blanco) and was created to fill a specific need of school and clinical psychologists, guidance counselors, social workers, school personnel, and graduate students in those fields. It became apparent to the author that there were insufficient references dealing with intervention techniques and treatment strategies for children with mental and physical problems. Since the third edition (1988), significantly enhanced by co-author, David F. Bogacki, Ph.D., approximately 30,000 copies of the book have been sold, mainly to school and clinical psychologists, counselors, special education personnel, and graduate students. Hundreds of notes and letters sent to the authors revealed the appreciation of readers. Many have requested an expanded edition to include a greater array of prescriptions for children who are disabled, with a focus on children in preschool and who are developmentally delayed; plus, ideas for professionals in private practice. Hence, this revised fourth edition, Prescriptions for Children with Psychological and Psychiatric Problems, follows almost thirty years after the third edition. During this time, considerable changes occurred in the field. The addition of three new chapters, along with inclusion of three new co-authors that are child and adolescent psychiatrists will enhance this new, invaluable edition. Experienced psychologists know that even the best prescriptive intervention will be ineffective if the teacher, parent or primary caregiver dealing with the child who is disabled is resistant to changes or too reluctant to help the child. This book will be welcomed by child and adolescent psychiatrists, pediatricians, child neurologists, and nurse practitioners working with children, along with other handbooks and desk references in the professional¿s office today.

Print ISBN: 9781785920547
EISBN: 9781784503116

Positive emotional health in a child's earliest years can be a critical factor in their future development. Offering practical suggestions for games, activities and exercises designed to promote emotional wellbeing in young children, this essential guide showcases a wide range of approaches such as mindfulness and meditation, Forest School and Reggio Emilia to provide a hands-on reference for teachers and parents. Drawing on over 25 years' experience as an early years professional, the author explores topics including playfulness, stillness, sensory play, creativity and staff wellbeing. Each topic references current best practices and international examples, and also includes a comprehensive list of further resources and activities. Providing an informative introduction to both theory and practice, this book demonstrates easy-to-implement ideas for any professional or parent engaging with young children.

Print ISBN: 9781785920967
EISBN: 9781784503598

As rates of depression, anxiety, self-harm and eating disorders are on the up among young people, how can schools provide appropriate information and support for the young people in their classrooms? How can they bridge the gap between what they know matters - the impact of these issues on learning and life-long health - and the mounting day-to-day priorities and pressures of school life? This book provides unique insight into 12 projects that are helping to answer these questions and supporting teachers to make mental health and emotional wellbeing a key player in the school day. With a mix of longer-term initiatives and simple strategies that schools can put in place immediately, it explores mentoring and mindfulness, social action and sport, Lego play and poetry, the power of parents and the role of PSHE. It describes how these projects work practically and shares the impact they are having, increasing resilience and raising the aspirations and emotional wellbeing of the whole school community. As well as showcasing ideas that are making a difference, the book meets with the education leaders and charities behind the initiatives (including Place2Be, Step up to Serve, Kidscape, Mosaic, Diversity Role Models, Beat, Achievement for All and others) who offer advice and signpost useful information to support readers in getting these ideas off the ground in their schools. This book is a source of inspiration for headteachers, senior leadership teams, pastoral care teams, school counsellors and psychologists.

Print ISBN: 9781473930315
EISBN: 9781526414076
Lcc: RJ103.G7 .M87 2017

In the recent years ′safeguarding′ measures to ensure the health and wellbeing of all children has become an increasing focus in the early years.  Supporting Children′s Health and Wellbeing helps early years students and practitioners working with children and young people gain an understanding of the key issues relating to children's health in particular, examining the possible ways in which health can impact upon young children's early childhood education and care. Packed full of practical advice for the everyday realities of the early years classroom, topics discussed include: Historical perspectives and contemporary issues related to child health Current policy and legislation How to support the child and the family Nutrition in childhood Infectious diseases, infestations and the acutely ill child Children with chronic and complex medical conditions Coping with the death of a child A timely, topical text that will be invaluable to early years professionals. Jackie Musgrave will be discussing key ideas from Supporting Children's Health and Wellbeing in the SAGE Early Years Masterclass, a free professional development experience hosted by Kathy Brodie.

Print ISBN: 9781447345947
EISBN: 9781447345954

After years of research and reflection on the work of the interdisciplinary family justice system Mervyn Murch offers a fresh approach to supporting the thousands of children every year who experience a complex form of bereavement following parental separation and divorce. This stressful family change, combined with the loss of support due to austerity cuts, can damage their education, well-being, mental health and long-term life chances. Murch argues for early preventative intervention which responds to children's worries when they first present them, without waiting until things have gone badly wrong. His radical proposals for reform involve a much more coordinated and joined up approach by schools, the Children and Family Court Advisory and Support Service, and Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services. This book encourages practitioners and academics to look outside their professional silos and to see the world through the eyes of children in crisis to enable services to offer direct support in a manner and at a time when it is most needed.