Resiliency: The Medical Side

Print ISBN: 9781610023641
EISBN: 9781610023658
Lcc: RJ499$b.P435 2020

This new compendium is your source for trustworthy recommendations on quality care of children and adolescents with mental health issues. It features one new AAP clinical practice guideline on ADHD and 32 AAP policy statements and clinical and technical reports on mental health. This book is written for all practitioners who diagnose, treat, and provide general clinical care for children and adolescents with mental health conditions. It serves as a great tool to ensure pediatricians feel comfortable with handling mental health issues. The book combines both clinical practice guidelines for individual patient care and policy guidelines for community level care. Within the compendium, you will find the collected results of the AAP Committee on Psychosocial Aspects of Child and Family Health, the Committee on Pediatric Emergency Medicine, and the Section on Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics, in addition to select polices from other AAP groups. This compendium covers 33 different mental health topics and is organized into 8 sections for easy reference: *    Mental health competencies *    Attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) *    Adversity and toxic stress *    Depression and bipolar disorder *    Mental health/behavioral problems *    Maltreatment *    Mental health emergencies *    Special pediatric populations and support

Print ISBN: 9781683732105
EISBN: 9781683732129
Lcc: RJ505.C63

Whether you're in the therapy office, a classroom, in the city, or the countryside, using nature-based activities with children is always possible, and incredibly therapeutic. By integrating these activities with mindfulness, therapists and educators can harness the power of both treatments, and help children become calm, alert and happier human beings. Mindfulness and Nature-Based Therapeutic Techniques for Children provides evidence-based, practical, accessible and FUN activities to promote: Self-regulation Cognitive and emotional development Physical development Sensory regulation Play and creativity Empathy Resilience to cope with trauma and grief Dozens of activities for children of all ages

Print ISBN: 9780128176467
EISBN: 9780128176474
Lcc: HV741 .C455 2019

Child Development at the intersection of Race and SES, Volume 57 in the Advances in Child Development and Behavior series, presents theoretical and empirical scholarship illuminating how race/ethnicity and socioeconomic status intersect to shape children's development and developmental contexts. Important chapters in this new release include the Implications of Intersecting Socioeconomic and Racial Identities for Academic Achievement and Well-being, The home environment of low-income Latino children: Challenges and opportunities, Profiles of race/ethnicity and socioeconomic status: Implications for ethnic/racial identity, discrimination and sleep, Youths' sociopolitical perceptions and mental health: Intersections between race, class, and gender, and much more. Rather than focusing on the additive effects of race/ethnicity and SES, which is typical (and a limitation) in the developmental literature, the scholarship in this book considers how the factors and processes shaping the development of children of color can differ markedly across the socioeconomic continuum. This collection illustrates how applying an intersectional lens to developmental science can yield unique insights into the challenges confronting, and assets buoying, both minority and majority children's healthy development. Includes contributions from renowned developmental scholars working at the forefront of their fields Presents a multidisciplinary focus that will be useful to developmental psychologists, sociologists, family scientists and those whose interests and work fall under the purview of those disciplines Examines multiple dimensions and factors shaping childhood development

Print ISBN: 9780128130049
EISBN: 9780128130056
Lcc: RJ506.A58 .C667 2019

Pediatric Anxiety Disorders provides a critical, updated and comprehensive overview of anxiety disorders in children and adolescents based on the current state of empirical research. The book provides specific clinical recommendations which integrate new knowledge from neuroscience and innovative delivery formats for interventions. This is the first reference to examine anxiety diagnoses in accordance with the latest edition of the DSM-5, including childhood onset disorders, such as Separation Anxiety Disorder, Selective Mutism, Specific Phobia, Social Anxiety Disorder, Panic Disorder, Agoraphobia and Generalized Anxiety Disorder. The book assists clinicians in critically appraising the certainty of the evidence-base and the strength of clinical recommendations. Uses the latest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, the DSM-5 Includes the Grading of Recommendations Assessment, Development and Evaluation (GRADE) approach in assessing guideline development Focuses on advances in etiology, assessment and treatment Presents new advances in our understanding of the brain behind fear and anxiety Uses a stepped care approach to treatment

Print ISBN: 9781785924255
EISBN: 9781784507893

This expert guide to working with transgender and gender variant youth offers ways to make positive change to service provision for practitioners working with this group. Based on the latest research, the recommendations made by the author are backed up by statistics and data, and refer to first-hand stories and experiences. Exploring four key areas - mental health, physical health, sexual health and social health - the book sets out exactly what professionals need to know in relation to these areas and how to support trans youth in these circumstances. Providing clarity on a range of topics, this is the perfect overview for practitioners, as well as a useful text for students and researchers.

Print ISBN: 9781785927737
EISBN: 9781784506780

Develop children's brains and bonds with this collection of no-tech, physical games, strategies and activities. Ideal for children who have experienced neglect, abuse and trauma, these "real-world" experiences draw on therapeutic, trauma-focused-care play principles and promote positive attachment between child and caregivers. Explanations for how and why specific play themes and caregiver attitudes can help children's brain development enhance the text. The book also shows how children learn to problem-solve real life situations by playing them out, finding workable solutions to their own problems, and increasing their resiliency. Further benefits include better cause-effect thinking, impulse control, and increased cognitive and emotional functioning by practicing physical movements that exercise specific areas of the brain.

Print ISBN: 9781473930315
EISBN: 9781526414076
Lcc: RJ103.G7 .M87 2017

In recent years, "safeguarding" measures to ensure the health and well-being of all children has become an increasing focus. Supporting Children's Health and Wellbeing helps early years students and practitioners working with children and young people gain an understanding of the key issues relating to children's health in particular, examining the possible ways in which health can impact upon young children's early childhood education and care. Full of practical advice for the everyday realities of the early years classroom, topics discussed include: Historical perspectives and contemporary issues related to child health Current policy and legislation How to support the child and the family Nutrition in childhood Infectious diseases, infestations and the acutely ill child Children with chronic and complex medical conditions Coping with the death of a child A timely, topical text that will be invaluable to early years professionals.

Print ISBN: 9780398091828
EISBN: 9780398091835
Lcc: RJ506.L4.B643 2017

The first edition, Prescriptions for Children with Learning and Adjustment Problems, was published in 1972 (Blanco) and was created to fill a specific need of school and clinical psychologists, guidance counselors, social workers, school personnel, and graduate students in those fields. It became apparent to the author that there were insufficient references dealing with intervention techniques and treatment strategies for children with mental and physical problems. Since the third edition (1988), significantly enhanced by co-author, David F. Bogacki, Ph.D., approximately 30,000 copies of the book have been sold, mainly to school and clinical psychologists, counselors, special education personnel, and graduate students. Hundreds of notes and letters sent to the authors revealed the appreciation of readers. Many have requested an expanded edition to include a greater array of prescriptions for children who are disabled, with a focus on children in preschool and who are developmentally delayed; plus, ideas for professionals in private practice. Hence, this revised fourth edition, Prescriptions for Children with Psychological and Psychiatric Problems, follows almost thirty years after the third edition. During this time, considerable changes occurred in the field. The addition of three new chapters, along with inclusion of three new co-authors that are child and adolescent psychiatrists will enhance this new, invaluable edition. Experienced psychologists know that even the best prescriptive intervention will be ineffective if the teacher, parent or primary caregiver dealing with the child who is disabled is resistant to changes or too reluctant to help the child. This book will be welcomed by child and adolescent psychiatrists, pediatricians, child neurologists, and nurse practitioners working with children, along with other handbooks and desk references in the professional¿s office today.