Library : Cinematography: Cinematography Resources

Finding Filmmaking Resources in the Library

Use the LibrarySearch to search for filmmaking materials in the catalog, and our A-Z database List to browse electronic databases and collections.

On the third floor you can browse books about cinema and film studies under these headings:

PN 1992-1999 - Motion Pictures
PN 1993.5 - Film History
PN 1994.A1-.A5 - Laws, Regulations, etc
PN 1996 - Authorship, Scenario Writing, etc
PN 1997 - Individual Motion Pictures

You can also browse books about technical filmmaking under these headings:

TR 845 - 897.77 - Cinematography. Motion Pictures. Video Recording
TR 898 - Motion Pictures for Television, Editing Motion Pictures

Print Books and eBooks

These are a few examples of print and eBooks found in our catalog, by doing a search terms like cinematography or film shot composition, defining the dates as between 2000-2023 and selecting books as the resource type.

Cinematography : Theory and Practice : Image Making for Cinematographers and Directors by Blain Brown
ISBN: 9780080958958
Publication Date: 2013-05-02
Covering the most up-to-date information on the film/digital interface, new formats, the latest cranes and camera support and other equipment, this book also illustrates the classic tried and true methods.
Digital Cinematography : fundamentals, tools, techniques, and workflows by David Stump
Call Number: 3rd Floor Stacks ; TR860 .S78 2014
ISBN: 9780240817910
Publication Date: 2014-05-09
If you aspire to be a successful cinematographer in this new digital age, or if you already are a working cinematographer in need of a resource to help you stay on top of your game, this is a must-read book.
Basic Cinematography : A Creative Guide to Visual Storytelling by Kurt Lancaster
ISBN: 9781351182102
Publication Date: 2019-03-07
This book includes tools, tables, and worksheets on how to enhance students and experienced filmmakers with strong visual storytelling possibilities, including such features as: Dramatic script analysis that will help unlock blocking, composition, and lighting ideas that reveal the visual story.

Film Databases

Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together a wide range of content from Bloomsbury and Faber & Faber to support studies of the moving image. It offers searchable access to screenplays presented in industry-standard studio format; introductory overview articles with expert analysis of selected themes; and critical and contextual books on cinema, including coverage of practical techniques for filmmaking and screenwriting.
Bloomsbury Screen Studies: Filmmaking This link opens in a new window
The Filmmaking collection offers a dedicated collection of over 100 practical eBooks from Focal Press and Bloomsbury, offering depth and coverage across the curriculum. The collection provides coverage across key areas of filmmaking including: production, screenwriting, cinematography, direction, and the business of film; the collection also includes overviews, practical handbooks, and technical guides.
Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
Copyrighted screenplays from the silent era to the present.
Film Index International This link opens in a new window
Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. With a scholarly, inclusive approach to all areas of film studies - from the very first silent movies, to art house classics or the latest blockbusters - Film Index International provides international coverage, indexing films from over 170 countries.

How to Request Interlibrary Loans

Choose either of the options below to submit a request:

Fill out the ILL request form directly based on item type.
Check WorldCat for the item you need; in the item record, use the Request Item button to submit your ILL Request.

Consider making a purchase request

If you think that we should have the item in our permanent collection, please let us know by filling out our Purchase Request Form.