Library & Learning Commons: Film Music Composition : Film and Other Media

Streaming Databases

Streaming Films

Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
A feature film collection, curated by faculty for use in UNCSA classes, but licensed for viewing by all campus ID holders.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
A film collection curated by faculty and now including a base collection of a variety of films, including feature films, documentaries, and more.
Digitalia Film Library This link opens in a new window
An eclectic and diverse collection of world cinema and television programs.
World Cinema Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes silent era, groundbreaking international directors, masterpieces from the mid-20th century, and contemporary films from around the world, including Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America, the Caribbean, the Middle East, and North America. A collection in Films on Demand.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
More than 68,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Films on Demand Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of almost 40,000 streaming videos on many subjects as well as documentaries, music and indie films.
Bloomsbury Video Library: Arts and Humanities Collection This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Video Library brings together award-winning, international film and videos across a wide range of interdisciplinary subjects in the Arts and Humanities.

Blu-ray, DVD, and Video in the Catalog

Use LibrarySearch to find our video recordings collection. Two ways to look exclusively at video holdings:

Click Advanced Search to the right of the search box. Enter your keywords, click the drop down for Material Type, select Video/Film.
OR: Enter your search terms in the main search box on the library homepage, then use the left hand filter options: Resource Type > Video.

Blu-rays and DVDs are available for check out on the 4th floor from our Media Library.

Below are some examples of video you can check out of the library or stream online.

Streaming Productions and Performances

Theatre performances can give the filmmaker and screenwriter valuable insight to building characters and their motivations, how they interact, and looking at scene building from a perspective that works in real time with a live audience.

Medici.tv This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection of classical music, opera and dance performances. Includes over 3,500 musical works filmed from the 1940s to present; over 2,000 films, including artist portraits, documentaries and master classes; and access to over 100 live streaming performances from the world’s most prestigious venues.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Includes about 400 streaming performances, 300 interviews, and supplementary learning materials for theatre, music, and dance. Full-length productions include West End recordings of plays by Ibsen, Miller, Ravenhill, Clare Bayley, Sam Shepard and Frantic Assembly alongside collections from the Royal Shakespeare Company, Complicite, Tara Arts, Talawa, Shakespeare's Globe, and more.
Royal Shakespeare Company Collection This link opens in a new window
High-definition recordings of modern productions featuring great Shakespearean actors such as David Tennant, Sir Antony Sher, Paapa Essiedu, and Simon Russell Beale, and directors like Robin Lough and Dewi Humphrey. Recordings are accompanied by production images, teacher packs, and study notes to enhance student understanding of these important plays.
National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
National Theatre Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality recordings from NT’s Archive.
Broadway HD Collection This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to 17 premium performances of plays and musicals from the New York theatre scene.

Pro Tip

If you don't have a DVD player of your own, you can check one out from the 1st Floor Circulation Desk. Alternatively, you can utilize the 4th floor Listening/Viewing Room with 15 playback stations or reserve time in the Library's Media Lab.