Library & Learning Commons: Directing (Drama): Video of Productions and Performances

Streaming databases

Streaming Video

Films on Demand Video Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of almost 40,000 streaming videos on many subjects as well as documentaries, music and indie films.
Bloomsbury Video Library: Arts and Humanities Collection This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Video Library brings together award-winning, international film and videos across a wide range of interdisciplinary subjects in the Arts and Humanities.
Broadway HD Collection This link opens in a new window
Streaming access to 17 premium performances of plays and musicals from the New York theatre scene.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
Includes about 400 streaming performances, 300 interviews, and supplementary learning materials for theatre, music, and dance. Full-length productions include West End recordings of plays by Ibsen, Miller, Ravenhill, Clare Bayley, Sam Shepard and Frantic Assembly alongside collections from the Royal Shakespeare Company, Complicite, Tara Arts, Talawa, Shakespeare's Globe, and more.
National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
National Theatre Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality recordings from NT’s Archive.
Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases across dance, drama, film, and music including streaming media, scripts, sheet music, and reference texts.

PRO TIP

Alexander Street Press includes a lot of different types of content. To see only video results, type your keyword(s) into the search bar, and hit enter. On your results page, select Video under Format in the left column.

Royal Shakespeare Company Collection This link opens in a new window
High-definition recordings of modern productions featuring great Shakespearean actors such as David Tennant, Sir Antony Sher, Paapa Essiedu, and Simon Russell Beale, and directors like Robin Lough and Dewi Humphrey. Recordings are accompanied by production images, teacher packs, and study notes to enhance student understanding of these important plays.
BBC Literary Adaptations in Video This link opens in a new window
This collection of 166 titles comprises a treasure trove of BBC productions of famous literary works, many that were buried in the BBC archive for the past few decades. From Dickens to Shakespeare, from Chekhov to Arthur Miller, from Jane Austen to Mary Shelley, a great breadth of works is included.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
More than 68,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

Blu-ray, DVD, and Video in the Catalog

Use LibrarySearch to find our video recordings collection. Two ways to look exclusively at video holdings:

Click Advanced Search to the right of the search box. Enter your keywords, click the drop down for Material Type, select Video/Film.
OR: Enter your search terms in the main search box on the library homepage, then use the left hand filter options: Resource Type > Video.

Blu-rays and DVDs are available for check out on the 4th floor from our Media Library.

Below are some examples of video you can check out of the library or stream online.

Theater and Drama Performances and Productions

Ah, wilderness! by Eugene O'Neill, Theater in America
Call Number: 4th Floor: Blu-ray/DVD/Video Collection - Ask At Desk ; DVD-202
Publication Date: 2001
Set in New England in the days of America's innocence, the affectionate comedy presents a young man's coming of age during a summer in which he experiments with poetry, politics, wicked women and alcohol and succumbs to his first romantic crush.
The book that won't close : confessions of a love addict by Jessica Lynn Johnson (stage director), Whitefire Theatre
Call Number: Available though Academic Video Online
Publication Date: 2021
A bi-culturally fluid Deaf woman confronts her shame about her being deaf or hearing enough when she meets a transgender coach who walks her through healing and integration for her love addiction.
Dara by Tanya Ronder (author), Nadia Fall (stage director), Royal National Theatre
Call Number: Available through National Theatre Collection, Volume 1
Publication Date: 2015
Originally performed at the Ajoka Theatre in Pakistan, Shahid Nadeem's epic tale of the dispute that shaped modern-day India and Pakistan is brought to life in Tanya Ronder's adaptation and Nadia Fall's stunning production.

Pro Tip

If you don't have a DVD player of your own, you can check one out from the 1st Floor Circulation Desk. Alternatively, you can utilize the 4th floor Listening/Viewing Room with 15 playback stations or reserve time in the Library's Media Lab.