Research Guides
Science and Math

Introduction
The Science Resources guide will introduce you to Science materials available in the Semans Library.
Books

Books on science and math subjects may be located using Subject searches like botany or mammals in the online catalog.

Browse the Collection

Reference - second floor

Circulating - third floor

Materials in the library are classified and shelved by subject.  Browse the Q-QL call number areas in both the reference and circulating collections for more resources.

Print Reference Sources

The books listed below are just a sample of what is available in the science and math sections of the reference collection on the second floor.
 

more informationGrzimeks Animal Life Encyclopedia | Ref. QL7 .G7813 2004

Multi-volume set covering mammals, reptiles, bird, vertebrates and invertebrates

more informationMcGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology | Ref. Q121 .M3 2007

Multi-volume work covering issues in science and technology

more informationCRC Encyclopedia of Mathematics | Ref. QA5 .W45 2009

Mathematics reference

 

Databases

Databases are online collections of materials such as journal articles, images, sound recordings and even entire books. The Science databases provide information from online reference books, websites, and scholarly journals.  Click on the Databases heading on the library's website then enter the title or subject of the database you need in the search box for a full list of available online resources.

 

show all descriptions
more informationAccess Science | Access Online

Online science encyclopedia

more informationProQuest Biology Journals | Access Online

Research on biology and science topics.

more informationProQuest Environmental Science | Access Online

Articles on environmental topics.

more informationProQuest Psychology Journals | Access Online

Articles on clinical and social psychology topics.

more informationProQuest Science Journals | Access Online

General science articles.

more informationScience In Context | Access Online

Images, videos and articles on scientific subjects.

more informationScience Online | Access Online

Science news, topics, biographies, images and timelines.

more informationToday's Science | Access Online

Articles on current science news topics from leading news sources.

 

Print Journals and Indexes

A list of the library's science periodicals can be found by searching the online catalog using the subject search   science periodicals.  Articles on specific subjects are located using an index like the Reader's Guide which is listed below.  Simply look up the subject and note the citation information for the individual article.

Readers Guide to Periodical LiteratureRef. AI3 R48
Print index shelved in Reference; coverage back to 1905.

The library does not subscribe to all the journals indexed by the Reader's Guide so check the online catalog to be sure the library has the journal you need.