Introduction

The History Resources guide will introduce you to History materials available through the Semans Library.  These materials may be located by searching the online catalog or the library website

Use the guides for Databases, Books and Print Journals to further explore these types of resources.

Books

Books on historical subjects may be located through Subject searches like United States History or France History 18th Centuryin the online catalog

Browse the collection

Reference - second floor

Circulating - third floor

Materials in the library are classified and shelved by subject so be sure to browse the call number areas below in both the reference and circulating collections for more sources.

General and European History by country - D

American History - E

Local and state history - F

Print Reference Sources

The books listed below are just a sample of what is available in the history section of the reference collection on the second floor. 

Album of American HistoryRef. E178.5 A482
American DecadesRef.E169.12 A419
Encyclopedia of Eastern EuropeRef.DJK6 E53 2000


 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

Databases

Databases are online collections of materials such as journal articles, images, sound recordings and even entire books. The History databases provide articles from newspapers and journals as well as primary source material, maps and images for research.  Click on the Databases heading on the library's website then enter the title or subject of the database you need in the search box for a full list of available online resources.

more informationAfrican-American History Online | Access Online

Full-text articles covering key issues, people and events in African-American history.

more informationAmerican History Online | Access Online

Information spanning all eras of American history.

more informationAmerican Indian History Online | Access Online

Full-text articles covering key issues, people and events in American Indian history.

more informationAmerican Slavery: A Composite Autobiography | Access Online

Digitized slave narratives.

more informationAncient and Medieval History Online | Access Online

Covers the Americas, Middle and Far East, Africa, Greece, Rome and Europe.

more informationModern World History Online | Access Online

Provides biographies, articles, timelines, maps, charts and primary sources for world cultures from mid-15th century to present.

more informationProQuest Political Science | Access Online

Journal articles on political science and related fields.

more informationSanborn Maps | Access Online

Detailed maps of North Carolina cities and towns.

more informationWorld Geography and Culture Online | Access Online

Detailed, printable, full-color maps of countries, provinces and states.

more informationWorld News Digest | Access Online

US and world news topics.



The websites listed below are publicly accessible and peer-reviewed so they are appropriate for research purposes.

AMERICAN MEMORY PROJECT
AMERICAN MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY DIGITAL COLLECTION
DOCUMENTING THE AMERICAN SOUTH
NC NEWSPAPER DIGITIZATION PROJECT
NORTH CAROLINA MAPS
NORTH CAROLINA POSTCARDS
WORLD DIGITAL LIBRARY
 

Print Journals and Indexes

A list of the library's history periodicals can be found by searching the online catalog using the subject search history periodicals. The New York Times and the Times of London newspapers are valuable in history research since they provide information that was current at that moment in time.  Their access information is listed below.

New York Times
Full-text available with indexing for years 1851-current.
Microfilm with print index available for years 1950-2009.

The Times of London
Microfilm with indexes available for years 1785-1985.

 

Articles on specific subjects are located using an index like the Reader's Guide listed below.  Simply look up the subject and note the citation for the individual article.

Readers Guide to Periodical LiteratureRef. AI3 R48
Print index shelved in Reference; coverage back to 1905.

The library does not subscribe to all the journals indexed in the Reader's Guide so check the online catalog to be sure the library has the journal you need.