Introduction
The Health Resources guide will introduce you to Health materials available through the Semans Library.  Use the individual tabs to find information on specific resources in health subject areas.
Books

Books on health subjects may be located using the online catalog

Browse the Collection

Materials in the library are classified and shelved by subject.  Browse the QM- R call number sections in both the reference and circulating collections for health materials in print.

Print Reference Sources

The books listed below are just a sample of what is availalbe in the health section of the reference collection on the second floor.

more informationGray's Anatomy | Ref. QM23.2 .G73 2005

Medical reference work covering skeleton and muscles

more informationGale Encyclopedia of Medicine | Ref. RC41 .G35 2011

Multi-volume work covering diseases, anatomy and wellness

more informationDance Anatomy and Kinesiology | Ref. RC1220.D35 C55 2007

Medical reference devoted dance injury, fitness and movement

 

 

 

 

Databases

Databases are online collections of materials such as journal articles, images, sound recordings and even entire books. The following Health databases provide articles on health subjects in newspapers and journals. Click on the Databases heading on the library's website then enter Health or the title of the database you need in the search box for a full list of available online resources.

more informationHealth Reference Center | Access Online

Health information for consumers

more informationProQuest Family Health | Access Online

Journal articles covering consumer health topics.

more informationProQuest Health and Medical Complete | Access Online

Clinical research articles.

more informationProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Source | Access Online

Journal articles covering nursing topics.

more informationToday's Science | Access Online

Articles on current science news topics from leading news sources.


The publicly accessible websites listed below provide consumer-oriented, peer-reviewed health information suitable for research.

CENTERS FOR DISEASE CONTROL
MAYO CLINIC
MEDLINE
MERCK MANUAL
NATIONAL CANCER INSTITUTE
NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF MENTAL HEALTH
PUBMED
 

 

 

 

 

Print Journals and Indexes

Print Journals

A list of the library's health periodicals can be found by searching the library catalog using the subject search:  Health Periodicals.  Articles on specific subjects are located using an index like the Reader's Guide which is listed below. Simply look up the subject and note the citation information for the individual article.

more informationReaders Guide to Periodical Literature | Ref. AI3 R48

Print index shelved in Reference.

 

The library does not subscribe to all the journals in an index by the Reader's Guide so check the online catalog to be sure the library has the journal you need.