Introduction

The Film Resources guide will introduce you to Film materials available through the Semans Library.   The library's film collection is housed in the Music and Media Library on the fourth floor.  Listening and viewing stations are available as are streaming services.

The library's film holdings are listed in the online catalog.  Search for a particular director, writer or actor using an author search, entering the last name first.  If you want just films and not print or electronic materials, use the Modify Search link at the top of the search results page to select the appropriate format.  The staff of the Music Library will assist you in using the media formats.

Books and Reviews

Reference Sources

The following items are basic print film resources.  Use subject searches in the online catalog to locate specific areas in film study such as  cinematography or screenwriting .  Your search may be redirected since the Library of Congress uses Motion Picture instead of Film in some instances. 

Browse the Collection

Reference Collection - second floor

Circulating Collection - third floor

Materials in the library are classified and shelved by subject.

Film materials are shelved primarily in the PN1995-2000 call number areas.

Be sure to browse the call number areas below in both the reference and circulating collections for more resources.

Print Reference Sources

The books listed below are just a sample of what is available in the film section of the reference collection on the second floor.

more informationHalliwell's Film, Video and DVD Guide | Ref. PN1993.45 .H29 2006

Annual guide to films in multiple formats with information on actors, film length and short reviews.

more informationInternational Motion Picture Almanac | Ref. PN1993.3 .I55

Annual compilation of feature films, biographies, production services and professional organizations.

more informationMagill's Cinema Annual | Ref. PN1993.3 .M34

Annual film survey

 

The library has an extensive collection of published scripts which may be located by title and/or author in the online catalog.  The library does not collect unpublished scripts.  Biographies of actors, writers and directors may be located by author or subject searches, typing the last name first in each case.

Film Reviews
 
The sources below are reprints of film reviews available in the reference collection.
more informationNew York Times Film Reviews | Ref. PN1995 N4

Coverage back to 1913

more informationVariety Film Reviews | Ref. PN1993 V36

Coverage back to 1907

 

Databases

Databases are online collections of materials such as journal articles, images, sound recordings and even entire books.  The Film databases provide access to screenplays, the AFI catalog, film reviews and criticisms plus biographies of actors and other film professionals.  

View all library databases (Browse A-Z or by subject)

Film Databases

more informationAFI Catalog | Access Online

The AFI Catalog covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976 to present.

more informationAmerican Film Scripts | Access Online

Copyrighted screenplays from the silent era to the present.

more informationFilm and TV LIterature Index | Access Online

Citations and articles covering literary subjects specific to tv and film.

more informationFilm Index International | Access Online

Film Index International indexes films from over 170 countries.

more informationFilms on Demand | Access Online

Collection of over 21,000 streaming videos on many subjects as well as documentaries, music and indie films.

more informationInternet Movie Database (IMDB) | Access Online

Film industry news and information.

Print Journals

Print journals and newspapers are valuable in arts research not only because they provide current treatment of a subject but also for their coverage of performances and reviews. Search the library catalog for film journals using the Subject search  motion pictures periodicals

The New York Times is an excellent source for information on film. Access information to the paper is listed below.

more informationNew York Times, Online | Access Online

For last few years, view holdings here

more informationNew York Times, Print | Microfilm (2nd Floor)

 

Articles on specific subjects are located using indexes like the Reader's Guide and Film Literature Index which are listed below.  Simply look up the subject and note the citation information for the individual article.

 

more informationReaders Guide to Periodical Literature | Ref. AI3 R48

Print index shelved in Reference.

 

more informationFilm Literature Index | Ref. PN1993 F57

Print index shelved in Reference.

 

The library does not subscribe to all the journals in the indexes so check the online catalog to be sure the journal you need is available.