Research Guides
Design and Production

Introduction

The Design and Production Resources guide will provide information on the use of databases, books and journals in design research.  Use the guides discussed below to further explore your topics.  Links to each are in the left-hand column.

Books will provide some specific reference sources and call number areas for browsing subjects like costume, hair and stage makeup. 

Databases will outline specific design and history databases.

Print Journals will introduce you to using print journals and newpapers in research.  Old journals and newspapers are useful because they contain ads, articles about daily life in a specific time or place and images that may never be digitized for the internet.

Images contains a listing of specific art and image databases. 



 

Books

Examples of search terms

Broad Overview: costume or hair
Narrow Search: 19th century women's clothing. 

If you're looking for materials on daily life in a particular time or place:

Subject search:  France economic conditions 18th century
Keyword Search: daily life in

Each record contains links to subject headings which will take you to works on the same or similar subjects.

Browse the Collection

Reference Collection: 2nd Floor
Circulating Collection: 3rd Floor

Browse Print Materials by Call Number
Materials in the library are classified and shelved by subject.
Costume - GT
Hair - GT2290 and TT900
Makeup - PN2060
Be sure to browse both the reference and circulating collections for a thorough search.

Print Reference Sources

The items listed below are just a sample of what is available in the art and design sections of the reference collection on the second floor.

more informationDictionary of Art | Ref. N31 D5 1996

Multi-volume set covering the history of art, biographies, genres and techniques.

more informationWorldwide History of Dress | Ref. GT511 A63 2007

History of clothing and textiles from pre-history to modern times spanning all geographic regions
 

more informationRichard Corson’s Fashions in Hair | Ref. GT2290 C6 2001

History of men's and women's hairstyles from ancient times to 20th century

 

 

Databases

Databases are online collections of materials such as journal articles, images, sound recordings and even entire books. 

View all library databases (Browse A-Z or by subject)

 

History Databases

The History databases will provide information on past and current events, timelines, geography and biographies.  There are databases covering specific areas such as Ancient and Medieval History or African American History as well as websites from major research libraries which will provide primary source material.

View all History Databases

Two examples of History Databases:

more informationDocumenting the American South | Access Online
CoverageUNC Chapel Hill

Digitized documents, letters, diaries and articles from historical collections at UNC Chapel Hill.

more informationAmerican Memory Project | Access Online
CoverageLibrary of Congress

Digitized collections from the Library of Congress.

 

Art Databases

View all Art Databases

Two Examples of Art Databases:

more informationARTStor | Access Online

Digital library of over 1 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and social sciences.

more informationAP Photo Archives | Access Online

Associated Press photos from the 1840s to current images; search by subject, time period or location.

 

Design Databases

View all Design Databases

Example of a Design database:

more informationBerg Fashion Library | Access Online

Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion and images.

 

Advertisements Databases

more informationAd* Access | Access Online

Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955

more informationEmergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 | Access Online

Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.

 

Print Journals

Print journals and newspapers play an important role in Design and Production Research.  Print periodicals like journals and newspapers contain ads and images that are often never digitized making them inaccessible through an online search.  Ads are especially vital in discovering what fashions were popular or what furniture looked like during a certain time period.  The library's periodical collection has a number of older periodicals, some dating back to pre-Civil War time periods. 

A list of the library's design periodicals can be found by searching the library catalog using subject searches such as:
Theatrical Makeup Periodicals 
Clothing and Dress Periodicals 
Design Periodicals 
Art Periodicals 
Architecture Periodicals 

 The New  York Times and the Times of London are highly respected newspapers with broad coverage of the arts.  Their access information is listed below.

more informationNew York Times | Microfilm (2nd Floor)
Note

Print Index in Reference Collection: Ref. AI21 N44

Current 4 weeks are also available in print in the library lobby.

more informationTimes of London | Microfilm (2nd Floor)
Note

Print Index in Reference Collection: AI21.T46 T55

 

Articles on specific subjects are located using an index. The Reader's Guide and Art Index are indexes which provide citations to journal articles on art and design subjects. Simply look up the subject and note the citation information for the individual article.

 

more informationReaders Guide to Periodical Literature | Ref. AI3 R48

Print index shelved in Reference.

more informationArt Index | Ref. N1 A7754

Print index shelved in Reference; coverage back to 1950.

The library does not subscribe to all the journals indexed in the these indexes so check the online catalog to be sure the library has the journal you need.

Images

The databases and websites listed below will assist you in finding images appropriate for research and design purposes.  They are located on the Art and Design database subject pages on the library website.  Some of the databases cover specific areas while others are more general so peruse all of the databases listed to find the one which best suits your search needs.

Print journals such as  National Geographic  also provide high quality images which can be scanned or copied.

more informationARTStor | Access Online

Digital library of over 1 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities and social sciences.

more informationDigital Public Library of America | Access Online

Explore nearly 17 million digital items (photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more) from libraries, archives, and museums.

more informationEuropeana | Access Online

Explore over 50 million artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe.

more informationGalaxy of Images | Access Online

Digitized images from the Smithsonian Institution Libraries

more informationGoogle Arts & Culture | Access Online

Discover millions of artworks, historical sites and stories.

more informationImage Quest | Access Online

Proprietary images through Encyclopedia Britannica from over 40 of the world's best image collections.

more informationLife Magazine Archive | Access Online
CoverageEBSCO

Cover to cover content (including images) dating back to issue number one in 1936 of Life magazine.

more informationLife Magazine Photo Collection | Access Online
CoverageGoogle Arts & Culture

Search and browse more than 4 million images from the popular weekly magazine; covers 1930s to 2000s.

more informationNYPL Digital Collections | Access Online

Explore over 700,000 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections - a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

more informationWorld Digital Library | Access Online

From the Library of Congress; a digitized collection of cultural treasures from around the world beginning in 8000BC.