Introduction

The Dance guide is designed to provide information on the databases, books and journals useful in dance research. Select a guide from the list in the left-hand column to explore these resources further.

The Semans Library has an extensive dance collection including dance videos and music plus information on costumes and ethnic dance. 

Books

Examples of search terms
Broad overview: dance or ballet
Narrow search: African dance or dance costumes

Biographies on individual dancers
Locate biographies on dancers by using a subject search in the online catalog.  Remember to type the last name first as you would when searching for an author.  For instance, biographies of Agnes de Mille would be searched like this: de mille agnes.

Browse the Collection

Reference Collection: 2nd Floor
Circulating Collection: 3rd Floor

Materials in the library are classified and shelved by subject.
Dance materials are shelved primarily in the GV call number section.
Be sure to browse both the reference and circulating collections for a thorough search.

Print Reference Sources in Dance

The books listed below are just a sample of the materials in the reference collection.

more informationEncyclopedia of World Ballet | Ref. GV1585 S66 2015

Entries in this volume reveal the nature and purpose of ballet, specifics about leaders in classic design and style, influential costumers and companies, and trends in technique, partnering, variation, and liturgical execution.

more informationInternational Dictionary of Modern Dance | Ref. GV1585 B46 1998

Covers all aspects of modern dance including biographies, essays on movements and styles and the development of modern dance around the world.

more informationSocial Dancing in America : A History and Reference | Ref. GV1623 G56 2007

Dancing in America examines the role of social dancing in daily life from the first settlements in 1607 through the birth of the nation in 1776 and into the beginning of the 21st century.

more informationInternational Encyclopedia of Dance | Access Online

Information on all forms of dance and choreography.
Print Version: Ref. GV1585 I586 1998

Articles and Databases

Databases are online collections of materials such as journal articles, images, sound recordings and even entire books.

View all library databases (Browse A-Z or by subject)

Dance Databases

more informationDance in Video | Access Online

Five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.

more informationGeorge Balanchine You Tube Channel | Access Online

The GBF's collection of interviews is designed to document as closely as possible Mr. Balanchine’s original intent as he choreographed his ballets.

more informationInternational Bibliography of Theatre and Dance | Access Online

Theater and dance articles.

more informationInternational Encyclopedia of Dance | Access Online

Information on all forms of dance and choreography.
Print Version: Ref. GV1585 I586 1998

more informationJerome Robbins Dance Divison (NYPL) | Access Online

The Jerome Robbins Dance Division of The New York Public Library is the largest and most comprehensive archive in the world devoted to the documentation of dance. Chronicling the art of dance in all its manifestations—ballet, ethnic, modern, social, and folk—the division is much more than a library in the usual sense of the word.

more informationLincoln Kirstein Catalogue | Access Online

Complete catalogue of published writings.

 

Print Journals and Reviews

Print journals and newspapers are valuable in arts research not only because they provide current treatment of a subject but also for their coverage of performances and reviews. A list of the library's dance periodicals can be found by searching the library catalog using the subject search dance periodicals

The New York Times and the Times of London are highly respected newspapers with broad coverage of the arts. Their access information is listed below.

 

more informationNew York Times, Online | Access Online

For last few years, view holdings here

more informationNew York Times, Print | Microfilm (2nd Floor)
Note

Print Index in Reference Collection: Ref. AI21 N44

Current 4 weeks are also available in print in the library lobby.

more informationTimes of London, Print | Microfilm (2nd Floor)
Note

Print Index in Reference Collection: AI21.T46 T55

more informationTimes of London, Online | Access Online
Note

Weekday, use the following link for the Sunday Times

 

Articles on specific subjects are located using an index like the Reader's Guide which is listed below.  Simply look up the subject and note the citation information for the individual article.

more informationReaders Guide to Periodical Literature | Ref. AI3 R48

Print index shelved in Reference.

The library does not subscribe to all the journals indexed by the Reader's Guide so check the online catalog to be sure the library has the journal you need.

Audio/Video

The music library on the fourth floor has a large collection of dance videos covering modern dance, ballet performances and operas. The staff there will help you locate materials in this collection. In addition, there are sound recordings of dance music covering a variety of time periods and genres.

Videos of past dance performances at UNCSA are available for viewing in-house in the school Archives which are located on the third floor of the library.

Dance Film Databases

more informationGeorge Balanchine You Tube Channel | Access Online

The GBF's collection of interviews is designed to document as closely as possible Mr. Balanchine’s original intent as he choreographed his ballets.

more informationDance in Video | Access Online

Five hundred hours of dance productions and documentaries covering ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance.