The most frequently-used databases
Why? To explore a premier virtual reference collection including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases in a wide expanse of subject areas
What? Encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, images, audio files, and video
Why? To explore a full-text archive of scholarly journals, particularly strong in the arts and humanities, and access Artstor's 3M+ images
What? Journal archives, images
When? 1665 - present
Why? To stream films in our base campus collection as well as specific additions curated by UNCSA faculty
What? Feature films and documentaries
Why? To explore articles on many subject areas including business, science, and culture
What? Magazine articles, eBooks, primary source documents, and images including photos, maps, and flags
Why? To enjoy full-site, institutional access to The New York Times including breaking news and robust arts coverage
What? Newspaper articles, images
When? 1851 - present
How? Register an account with your UNCSA email through the link for full-access
Why? To search the largest periodical resource available, bringing together databases across all major subject areas
What? Full-text articles
When? 1970 - present
Why? To stream videos from a feature film collection curated by faculty
What? Streaming video
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Why? To watch award-winning, international film and videos in a wide range of interdisciplinary subjects in the Arts and Humanities
What? Streaming films and video
Why? To find guidance on style, usage, grammar, and citations
What? Style, citation, and grammar guide
Why? To access practical and vocational stagecraft titles from renowned theatre studies imprint Focal Press
What? Guides, handbooks, toolkits, master classes, and eBooks
When? 2010 - 2020
Why? To explore important topics within business and economics, government, history, literature, science, and social issues, via materially specifically designed to support national curriculum standards
What? Topic guides, articles
Why? To explore material supporting both sides of important current topics, in order to develop critical-thinking skills and draw your own conclusions
What? Topic guides, articles
Why? To discover the right song for your next audition or performance by searching across 10,000+ song titles with the ability to filter for up to 20 different parameter such as age, voice type, key, and tempo
What? Database of musical theater songs
When? 1850s - present
Why? To access 36,000+ eBooks across a variety of subjects
What? eBooks
Why? To access 200+ play scripts from Theatre Communications Group, the largest independent trade publisher of dramatic literature in North America
What? Play scripts
When? 1985 - present
Why? To listen to recordings of native and non-native speakers of English from around the world read the same paragraph
What? Voice recordings of speech samples
Guides by Subject
