Music Databases

African American Music Reference

African American Music Reference will contain 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

American Song

Listening database of African-American music;

Classical Music in Video

Classical Music in Video will contain 1,000 hours of classical music performances and masterclasses captured on video—approximately 1,500 performances in all. The collection will contain performances of all forms of classical music, including major orchestral performances by leading orchestras, plus chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.

Classical Music Library

Listening database of classical music recordings;

Classical Music Reference Library

Classical Music Reference Library brings together more than 40,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form.

Classical Scores Library

Scores from the Renaissance to the 21st century;

Contemporary World Music

Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent.

Grove Music Online

Full texts of Grove Music sources

Index to Printed Music

Index to music printed in standard scholarly editions;

International Index to Music Periodicals

Provides citations, abstracts and some full-text articles on music;

Jazz Music Library

Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.

JSTOR

Online journal archive;

Musical America

Online resource for music industry news;

Opera in Video

Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

Oxford History of Western Music

The Full Text of Oxford History of Western Music, by Richard Taruskin.

Oxford Music Online

The new home of Grove Music Online;

RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature

Provides citations and abstracts of international music literature from 1967 to the present;

RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources

Annotated index and guide to music manuscripts produced from 1600 to 1850;

SingersBabel

SingersBabel is a subscription site that provides literal translations, International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions, and audio guides with native speakers for the texts of works such as J.S. Bach Matthäus Passion.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Database of music, spoken word, natural and man-made sounds;

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.

WorldCat

Database covering music, medicine, science, current events and general academics;

 

Music Databases for Listening Online

 

American Song

Listening database of African-American music;

Classical Music Library

Listening database of classical music recordings;

Contemporary World Music

Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent.

Jazz Music Library

Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries

Database of music, spoken word, natural and man-made sounds;